Thread: Clearing codes to run crank relearn

Tuner in Training

Clearing codes to run crank relearn

I have an LS2 (2005 Pontiac GTO) in my Datsun. I believe I need to run the crank relearn procedure as I get codes for both the crank and cam sensor (yes, I replaced both). It runs smoothly after start up so I believe the motor is in time (I had an experienced machine shop do the timing). The main problem, apart from the codes, is that the motor doesn't like to start (it turns over, occasionally back fires, but eventually starts up and runs well).

I tried to run the crank relearn procedure but it says it cannot run with codes present. However, I don't see any codes in the scanner (after clearing the cam/crank sensors). I'm new to HP Tuners so am I just missing something obvious?

Thanks!

Cam sensor is not working for whatever reason, probably miswired. Is there a reason you can't list the DTCs? Is it a secret? There are a lot of them and guessing is not really an effective method of troubleshooting these things. There are so many codes because they all mean different things and point you to different possible causes to look at.

Tuner in Training
    I've checked the wiring for both the cam and crank sensors and confirmed they are wired correctly (I'm running a Wiring Specialties harness). I'll grab the specific codes this evening.

(it turns over, occasionally back fires, but eventually starts up and runs well)
    This is the symptom when there is no data from the cam position sensor. The ECM only uses CMP to distinguish #1 TDC compression from #6 TDC compression. With no CMP signal it has to guess, once it figures out which of the two choices is correct, the engine runs normally.

Not having the crank relearn completed will not set any codes other than P0315. And having any other CMP/CKP codes current will prevent doing the crank relearn.