Thread: Cold Start Issue with Timing

Tuner in Training

Cold Start Issue with Timing

For some reason on cold & warm starts pcm is pulling timing and killing engine unless I give it a little throttle I have looked over everything in the tune and cant find the problem I am new to tuning, I am sure its something simple, So if someone could please review the log & tune & advise me what's happening that would be much appreciated..

2005 Gto Torid Red
    408 Stroker 10.3 Cr
    Howard Cam
    0.625 Int & Exh 284 Int 301.6 Exh 118 Sep
    823 Squire port heads built but not ported
    SnakEaters 80-lb injectors
    Magnuson 2.3 Od cog pulleys 3.0 Front
    Innovative West 10% Od 8-rib conversion
    Attached Files Attached Files

Tuner in Training
    Is it pulling timing or oscillating? Post a tune/log. If it is pulling, you prob need to add airflow to your base amd or raise your idle speed. Looks like you have a cam. What your idle rpm set at?

He did post the tune and logs.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Senior Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by oldstata View Post
    For some reason on cold & warm starts pcm is pulling timing and killing engine unless I give it a little throttle I have looked over everything in the tune and cant find the problem I am new to tuning, I am sure its something simple, So if someone could please review the log & tune & advise me what's happening that would be much appreciated..

2005 Gto Torid Red
    408 Stroker 10.3 Cr
    Howard Cam
    0.625 Int & Exh 284 Int 301.6 Exh 118 Sep
    823 Squire port heads built but not ported
    SnakEaters 80-lb injectors
    Magnuson 2.3 Od cog pulleys 3.0 Front
    Innovative West 10% Od 8-rib conversion
    Where are you located? Which MAP Sensor are you using? Your MAP Sensor only reads 83-84 kPa with the engine off. That's pretty low.

Tuner in Training