Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: LNF tuning

LNF tuning

Hey guys I am new to the forums and to tuning. I purchased a remote tune last year with HPTuners and my car has ran pretty well! I asked for a conservative tune and it definitely isn't anything aggressive. I have since made it a mission to research and learn how to do my own tuning for my car and have spent the past 3 weeks studying EFI tuning courses as well as numerous youtube channels. I have some knowledge of how things work now and some guidelines for the tables however I do have some questions. I know I am a bit late to the game however I am wanting to fine tune my cobalt to my own personal liking. Most of the threads are outdated so I do not want to bump them up after years of inactivity so I decided to make this thread. Yes I have read the infamous LNF bible thread thank you everyone who contributed to that.

1st is using the 3d chart for tables (Main Spark, Optimum Torque and Torque to load) I noticed some tunes I have found posted here everyone's tables are smooth for the most part. Mine are smooth under WOT however not really touched under lighter loads. I have decided to massage some values to make the 3d chart smoother during low load. Changing those values slightly should have some positive affect to drive ability? Such as smoother transitioning? Also mine are slightly different as were the stock numbers so I have not copied 1 and made all 4 to match. Is this something still recommended to do or during each phase of the cams they should be slightly different? The WOT timing is relatively the same.

2nd is tq mgt inj disable. I have read GMtech's thread and see mixed reviews with truly no right or wrong answer as a few guys share they use different settings:
    - Leaving stock values.
    - Zeroing out all but the last column leaving that as 15.
    - Zeroing out all columns.