Thread: 2014 Impala LTZ Transmission question

Potential Tuner

2014 Impala LTZ Transmission question

I have Impala 2014 with a 6T70 transmission, I have been researching how to exactly tune to change the shifting it feels sluggish when in auto, if i drive in manual it pulls through the gears without hesitation, Ive seen some tunes from other vehicles with the same trans. Would following the changes done on those work since it has the same trans? Total newbie, Just trying to figure out where to get started.. Thanks

Take small steps is about all I can say. You may not know if some of those other tunes are good to use or not for copying data.

Usually minor adjustments to shift pressure, shift speed/time and pressure presets can make the transmission shift nicer. Even disabling the torque converter if it uses that is the lower gears. In trucks I only let the converter lock in 5th and 6th because they are over drives and it helps with converter life which some of these trucks have issues with.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

Potential Tuner
    Thank you for the advice. That is what my plan is. Just was looking to see what others have done to fix the impala shift issues.

Potential Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    Take small steps is about all I can say. You may not know if some of those other tunes are good to use or not for copying data.

Usually minor adjustments to shift pressure, shift speed/time and pressure presets can make the transmission shift nicer. Even disabling the torque converter if it uses that is the lower gears. In trucks I only let the converter lock in 5th and 6th because they are over drives and it helps with converter life which some of these trucks have issues with.