Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hard to crank when hot

Tuner in Training

Hard to crank when hot

I'm pretty new to tuning, been watching a lot of videos and doing a lot of reading, etc. I had been playing aroudn with tuning the MAF a lot but think I'm chasing my tail...

Car is a 2006 CTS-V (LS2) witha 402 stroker, TF heads, BTR4 cam, etc. A fairly high hp N/A build (by previous owner, so I don't know 100% of the details). It is also tuned MAF only, which I recently discovered playing in hptuners. Speed density is disable above like 400 rpm or something like that. I say I'm chasing my tail because I can't get the MAF dialed in. I have read that it's tough to tune a MAF at low airflow with a big lopey cam. I plan to try to enable the map this weekend and give tuning the vve tables a shot...

The current issue though... As I've been doing the MAF tuning I've noticed when I shut the car off to make adjustments then restart it hot, it is really hard to crank. It cranks super slow, almost like it's not gonna turn over. It has a brand new battery, and I'm pretty sure the starter was recently new by the previous owner. I think it has something to do with the tune.

One other note (may be related), when I first got the car I had cleaned the TB (it was very dirty). After that, the car idled crazy high like 1500rpm. I couldn't drive it obviously. I spent months trying to figure out the issue, and what ended up resolving it was just arbitrarily reducing startup airflow and base idle airflow by a large % across the tables. I think I took out like 30 or 40%. After that, the car idled and ran good. Now I'm wondering if this could be related to the hard hot starts? I attributed it to the car being tuned with a dirty TB, so when I cleaned it the base airflow was all jacked up...

Any help is appreciated. I have tried pulling some startup timing but it didn't seem to make much difference...

Tuner in Training