Thread: black rich soot from pipe on WOT. Tune review request

Tuner in Training

black rich soot from pipe on WOT. Tune review request

I have a 2002 2500HD 4x4 with specs below. It runs real good and the Lambda numbers on my gauge and logs seem OK but when I mash it on kick down I get black smoke out the pipes. The pipes are coated with soot. just to be clear it is not oil it is fuel. Can someone steer me in the right direction as to where I could have made a mistake in the tune. I attached my tune and a quick log with a downshift that blows black soot.

ls3 injectors
    LSXRT intake
    102mm TB
    ls3 heads
    04 LS6 cam
    lQ9 shortblock
    BBK headers
    dual 3" exhaust
    Map sensor 1264428
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by John377; 06-18-2021 at 05:28 PM.

Advanced Tuner
    Just a guess here, but probably in your transient fueling tables. I'm a bit of a noob myself, so I couldn't tell you how to adjust them.

Senior Tuner
    It's detonation. You have way too much timing in it. I'd recommend pulling at least 5-6 degrees out of it at WOT. That'll add torque and will also prevent the smoking.

Tuner in Training
    Just curious why there wouldn't be active KR if there was too much timing?

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by kevin87turbot View Post
    It's detonation. You have way too much timing in it. I'd recommend pulling at least 5-6 degrees out of it at WOT. That'll add torque and will also prevent the smoking.
    That's what I thought but its not detonation. I crept up on this timing and the soot never changes. I've reached knock and backed off. The motor runs strong with this timing. I started with 25 at WOT and it starts to knock at 32.
    Last edited by John377; 06-18-2021 at 10:31 PM.

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by danmw2003 View Post
    Just a guess here, but probably in your transient fueling tables. I'm a bit of a noob myself, so I couldn't tell you how to adjust them.