Thread: New to the 6.0 diesel

Potential Tuner

New to the 6.0 diesel

I'm a newbie when it comes to diesel tuning. This is my first. I've done a lot of turbo Subaru tuning via open source tuning, but this is clearly completely different.

My 03 Excursion 6.0 has a newer FICM with an 80hp Atlas tune from PHP, so I'm unable to access the FICM module at all.

My understanding based on some research is that most of the power comes from fueling, a bit from timing and almost none from additional boost. I have several questions:

1. While looking at my file, I don't see any kind of mass desired fuel table. Is this something that is contained in the FICM module or am i just missing it? Screenshot of this area attached.

2. For adding timing, what is safe and where? 1 degree increments? The truck is not studded, but I will be getting studs done as soon as needed.

3. For boost, do I just increase the max map table? What about inferred map?

4. Do i keep torque management and just increase the table some or disable it?

5. Finally, I've got a No Limit 5" diameter intake. What's the preferred method of scaling the MAF sensor?

Sorry for all the questions, hoping someone is willing to help.

Thanks!

diesel fueling.JPG
    Last edited by Rtbrjason; 08-27-2021 at 08:57 PM.

Potential Tuner
    New to diesel tuning, any advice greatly appreciated. 04 6.0 with a couple thousand Km on since "bulletproofed" (head gaskets,studs,EGR delete, large oil cooler) and and apparently new transmission witch how good it shifts I do believe. Always looking to push my luck as far as possible with power keeping in mind will be towing 1/4 of the time. Any info or direction on what is over doing it would be great, don't mind being a gienie pig and definitely interested in tuning FICM . Thanks

Potential Tuner