Thread: Gen V LT1 VVT Tuning Gains

Tuner in Training

Exclamation Gen V LT1 VVT Tuning Gains

As I am new to tuning Gen V engines, I was wondering were there any hp/tq gains to be had by tuning VVT with the stock cam? Also, if anyone wants to chime in and explain VVT theory and how those gains are realized, that would be great as well. Thanks for any input provided.

Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by 99z28u_up View Post
    As I am new to tuning Gen V engines, I was wondering were there any hp/tq gains to be had by tuning VVT with the stock cam? Also, if anyone wants to chime in and explain VVT theory and how those gains are realized, that would be great as well. Thanks for any input provided.
    I know it's not what you want to hear, but there are many good threads on this topic already. VVT has been around since Gen IV so it's been discussed quite a bit. Gains at WOT will be pretty minimal but you can realize some driveability/throttle response improvements by reducing the amount of retard at part throttle, which is there to introduce an EGR-effect thereby reducing fuel consumption.

Tuner in Training
    I?ve been looking for a week. Maybe I?m using the wrong terminology. If you can point me to a thread or what terms to search, I?d appreciate it.

Tuner
    I have MUCH better results using Google instead of the forum search feature. For example, try this: "vvt Gen 5 site:forum.hptuners.com". In the future, just change 'vvt gen 5' to whatever you're researching and leave 'site:forum.hptuners.com' alone.

https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...VT-Tuning-HELP

https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...a-6-2-With-VVT

https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...n-V-Cam-Timing

Tuner in Training
    Thank you!