Thread: Trans shift spread sheet for NAG1/W5A580

Tuner in Training

Trans shift spread sheet for NAG1/W5A580

I have had a bear of a time trying to get my head around the upshift / downshift points on a NAG1 in a 2012 Jeep wrangler. I am a novice tuner at best, and with individual tables for everything plus having to compare output shaft rpm I could not "see" the tune - it was more like throwing darts at the wall in a dark room.

I did download the Tuning School spreadsheet and that was helpful, but it was a little too complicated and there were a few things I didn't like.

So I created a new spreadsheet that allows me to visualize the up shift and downshift point on graphs. In the main tab (Sheet 1) First check your gear ratios, axle ratio and tire circumference, and adjust these values as needed. (you can see I have 4.10 axle, and a tire cir. 100.7) Next copy and past the output shaft rpm from your tune to each shift category (1-2 upshift, 2 -1 downshift, etc). You may also have to adjust the Throttle position data labels if yours are different. It will calculate the engine RPM and vehicle speed. After those are input check out the tabs/sheets at the bottom, there is a sheet for each shift/downshift with a graph of the upshift points vs downshift point.

Take a look at the stock tune file 2 -3 shift. Why the heck would Daimler/Chrysler come up with such a terrible (looking anyway) shift strategy. And I can't for the life of me figure out why they have multiple TPS data labels with different values - For example TPS: 85, 85, 95, 95, 100. Those seem all but useless.

You can see the trouble spots I have with my current tune I will make some adjustments and see how it works.

Jeep NAG 1 trans tuning stock.xlsx

Jeep NAG 1 trans tuning tune 003.xlsx

Hope this is helpful for someone. I am thinking about adding a TCC line, I have to think that through a little.

Advanced Tuner
    Neat spreadsheet!