Thread: LS2, BTR3 Idle surges and hangs

Tuner in Training

LS2, BTR3 Idle surges and hangs

Like many others on here I am new to the HP Tuning, however I am very mechanically inclined(Engineer) and familiar with terminology. I just recently installed a 06 LS2 from a GTO into my 05 Lexus IS300. Problem I'm having is at idle the car is surging kinda bad and the throttle seems to be hanging quite a bit. I made quite a bit of changes but none seem to have fixed my issue. I do not have a wideband yet but it's on order. Also, I have not driven the car either because I'm trying to get this problem fixed. I would appreciate any advice from anyone that wouldn't mind helping out. I have attached a copy of my current tune and a log from it just idling. The only modifications are BTR3 cam (Specs: 231/244 .630"/.615" 112.5+2.5) and Long tubes with no cats and Spintech 9000s, also just a regular cold air intake and I'm running a return style fuel system with the Corvette Filter/Regulator. Once again, any input would be much appreciated.

Jacobs LS2 IS300 Current.hpt
    First Startup.hpl

Got your email!! Let me know, I’ll fix this up for ya

Email Tunes, [email protected]
    96 TA Blown/Stroked, 4L80E/Fab 9
    15 C7 A8 H/C 2.3 Blower/PI
    14 Gen 5 Viper
    Custom Mid Engine chassis, AKA GalBen C

Tuner in Training
    You can adjust your BRAF to see if more airflow helps. Use the scanner controls while it is live and you can adjust timing (only allowed to decrease) to test. On a side note, your low octane has been made to duplicate your high octane table. Not a fan of that myself. Also, cylinder volume is wrong for a 6.0 LS2, should be .75. Let us know what helps.

Senior Tuner
    Did you mean to say returnless fuel system with corvette filter? And what is your intended use of the car to pick a S3 cam? I'm betting it has a stock torque converter.

Tuner in Training