Thread: 3.5 wastegate tuning for LESS boost

3.5 wastegate tuning for LESS boost

Crazy, I know.

First post here. I do electrical diagnostics for a living and LS swaps after hours. I own a HPT setup to aid in LS swaps, although I don?t go too far into ?tuning?.
    Daily driver is an 11 f150 3.5.
    I?m hoping to do some good data logging and tweak some stuff for the big end, but some googling got me to wonder if you?d be able to tune in some wastegate actuation at low Throttle position, to reduce stoplight/traffic boost, and consequently reduce fuel consumption.
    I found some mail order tunes advertising such, but I?m not sure if this is actually possible or just snake oil. https://5startuning.com/f150-eco-boost-3-5l-v6-economy/

All other turbo vehicles had enough lag to stay out of boost easy, but these damn turbos light immediately. Forgive me if I?m being ass-backwards here, but I like technology and it?s fun to make things do what they?re not intended to do.

This ECM is a lot more intimidating than 5.3, and honestly I don?t know where to start.
    Any help would be appreciated, and thanks for you time and humoring me.

Cheers

You could try adjusting the driver demand tables at lower throttle inputs to a lower torque value to see if that keeps boost down. I have been considering the same with my '13 EB F150 to help fuel mileage in town and on the hwy.
    Owner/Tuner@Evolution Automotive Performance
    Lincoln, Ne

Advanced Tuner
    What he said.

You can look at the torque-to-load tables and see what torque corresponds to 1.0 load (near zero boost). Then go into the torque demand table and reduce low rpm/pedal position torque demand to values that correspond to 1.0 load.

Go into Airflow - Pressure Control - Open up Expected Tip, lower these will bring things down, but there are some other tables that will need attention.