Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Wideband through EGR

Wideband through EGR

I'm pretty new to tuning and recently had the opportunity to get a wideband 02, I've heard this is an awesome way to fine tune your vehicle. I own a 2001 Silverado with the 5.3L motor with the Z06 cam.

I've done my searching but have only found partial answers (at least to my newbie skills). Now, before you think 'this guy just wants us to do the work for him' I should note early on in this post that there is an attachment showing my attempt.

What I am wondering is if someone would mind posting a step by step how-to on making this work.

So far the best I have found is this:

MECHAM:
    1. open the scanner - from the shortcut itself..not by a log file
    2. right click the table...insert
    3. a box will pop up..go to User Defined at the bottom..expand
    4. click the Configure User Defined
    5. another box appears...go the first undefined (should be #4)
    6. on the right in the name box call it whatever - MY A/F
    7. in the bottom field under function paste this - ([PID.2811]/.5)+10

PID.2811 is the EGR position in volts
    now im not sure what a LC1 sensor uses for A/F calc but for my PLX it was the above calculation. there is a thread somewhere here that tells u what your calc should be.

8. close the box

you should be back at the table...

right click delete the Fuel Trim Cell
    right click Insert
    User Defined
    Click that custom PID you just made

start logging...

That I can handle... but then it's followed by:

Keith@HPTuners:
    You need to define its sensor as air fuel ratio. That is very important.

You also need to insert EGR volts into the table display as well. It is not critical to insert your custom pid in the table display. If you define it as an air fuel ratio sensor, the chart and histograms will work properly for all references to afr.

So I guess what I need is a continuance on the 8, 9 and 10 lol.