Thread: Tuning a 6F35 Automatic Gearbox

Tuning a 6F35 Automatic Gearbox

Hello,

I have a 2016 Kuga 1.5 Ecoboost with the 6F35 automatic gearbox. The engine is fine, I have no plans to tune for the time being, but the gearbox is absolutely dreadful. I hate it with a passion. I do, however, think that a bit of tuning might change it into something more acceptable. But I have no tuning experience, and almost all of the settings that I see in VCM Editor related to the transmission mean nothing to me. I would really appreciate your help.

First, just so you understand what I'm talking about, let me tell you how it behaves.
    I drive it exclusively in Sport. In Drive it's utterly horrible.
    If I drive spiritedly, it shifts just fine. It allows the engine to rev quite a bit before upshifting. The shift points seem fine to me. But as soon as I let go of the throttle and try to just maintain the current speed, it upshifts until the engine's rpm falls down to a level similar to the Drive mode, where it has no power to do anything more than just maintain the speed. It then takes a hard press of the gas pedal to make it downshift when the need arises, and it takes quite some time for this to happen.
    When I drive up-hill it keeps the engine in such a high gear that it's literally undrivable unless I switch to manual mode. For instance, when driving up a hill that required second gear, in Sport it would be in fourth!!!
    This stupid behaviour makes me switch to manual mode most of the time. But there's something that bugs me even in manual. As soon my speed falls below 7 mph or so, it automatically shifts into first gear, even though second would be just fine. And first gear is so short that there's no point in using it for anything except driving off from a standstill.

So, is there anything I can change to: