Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2003 mustang gt datalogging problems

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    3

    2003 mustang gt datalogging problems

    Has anyone else found a solution to slow and locking up datalogging; also noticed it make gauges in car freak out. Using latest beta scanner version and even tried using min pids.

  2. #2
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Western Canada
    Posts
    84
    Im having the same issues with a 2000 gt.

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    24
    It's been a known issue for over a year now with no fix. I don't know that there will be one to be honest. You can read and write the files fine but datalogging is a no go. You have to find some other method of datalogging the vehicle.

  4. #4
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    4,379
    It's not just HP Tuners either. It's basically any newer high speed communication tool to watch data. I personally have tried using a newer scan tool, but same problems. You have to find an older slower communicating tool of some sort to be able to watch data - older long past supported tools for OBD1 and OBD2 type scan tools for instance work good, but it's a huge pain to tune like this, so I recommend removing pids down to the bare min and if the gauges drop out stop and restart your scanner as it will usually drop out at the same time - not to mention the car honestly seems to run differently like it's own communication protocols are being interrupted. I would be happy if HPT just came out with an interface just for scanning on Fords - I'm fine with unplugging and swapping if it takes a slower comm tool.
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    ~Greg Huggins~
    Remote Tuning Available at GHugginsTuning@gmail.com
    Mobile Tuning Available for North Georgia and WNC

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by GHuggins View Post
    It's not just HP Tuners either. It's basically any newer high speed communication tool to watch data. I personally have tried using a newer scan tool, but same problems. You have to find an older slower communicating tool of some sort to be able to watch data - older long past supported tools for OBD1 and OBD2 type scan tools for instance work good, but it's a huge pain to tune like this, so I recommend removing pids down to the bare min and if the gauges drop out stop and restart your scanner as it will usually drop out at the same time - not to mention the car honestly seems to run differently like it's own communication protocols are being interrupted. I would be happy if HPT just came out with an interface just for scanning on Fords - I'm fine with unplugging and swapping if it takes a slower comm tool.
    Lots of guys including myself have used Forscan for logging, free program and adapters are cheap. Its not great but it works. I'd hit up http://www.efidynotuning.com/, learned a lot there and look into getting a Moates Quarterhorse if you do a lot of these.

  6. #6
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Franklin, NC / Gainesville, Ga
    Posts
    4,379
    Quote Originally Posted by radcartuning View Post
    Lots of guys including myself have used Forscan for logging, free program and adapters are cheap. Its not great but it works. I'd hit up http://www.efidynotuning.com/, learned a lot there and look into getting a Moates Quarterhorse if you do a lot of these.
    Which cable are you using with the forscan software on the older Fords? Looks like they're showing possibly 2 still available? Really only anything older than an 05 should require this anyway. Then does the software allow custom table creation like hpt? Used SCT years ago and that was the biggest thing I hated about it - it wouldn't let you "really" customize any of the table layouts - had specific breakpoints that you had to use for axis logging's...
    2010 Vette Stock Bottom LS3 - LS2 APS Twin Turbo Kit, Trick Flow Heads and Custom Cam - 12psi - 714rwhp and 820rwtq / 100hp Nitrous Shot starting at 3000 rpms - 948rwhp and 1044rwtq still on 93
    2011 Vette Cam Only Internal Mod in stock LS3 -- YSI @ 18psi - 811rwhp on 93 / 926rwhp on E60 & 1008rwhp with a 50 shot of nitrous all through a 6L80

    ~Greg Huggins~
    Remote Tuning Available at GHugginsTuning@gmail.com
    Mobile Tuning Available for North Georgia and WNC

  7. #7
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by GHuggins View Post
    Which cable are you using with the forscan software on the older Fords? Looks like they're showing possibly 2 still available? Really only anything older than an 05 should require this anyway. Then does the software allow custom table creation like hpt? Used SCT years ago and that was the biggest thing I hated about it - it wouldn't let you "really" customize any of the table layouts - had specific breakpoints that you had to use for axis logging's...
    Forscan uses an ELM 327 for the OBD2 port. I am not a fan of SCT either, and forscan is not much better for logging, its more for diagnostics and changing PCM settings in newer vehicles, it is just a cheap way if you're in dire need of a way to datalog. I would get a Moates Quarterhorse if you're tuning anything pre 2005 Ford wise.

  8. #8
    OBD EX and I think MongoosePlus ford work with FORScan. Export to csv and view data with megalogviewer hd.

  9. #9
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Kuwait
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by Domdata View Post
    Has anyone else found a solution to slow and locking up datalogging; also noticed it make gauges in car freak out. Using latest beta scanner version and even tried using min pids.
    I am getting the same problem with my mustang. I am using Forscan to datalog. I is a bit slow but works fine and never have any problem with it.

  10. #10
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Slidell, La.
    Posts
    968
    IF YOU HAVE A NON UPDATED MPVI1 IT WORKS FLAWLESSLY
    THE ONLY REASON i STILL HAVE ONE
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    20yr Master Tech.
    Advanced Level Specialist
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner