Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: "This project uses input files that could not be opened"

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    30

    Question "This project uses input files that could not be opened"

    I have a pretty large template that has taken a long time to get right. When I load it I get the "This project uses input files that could not be opened"" message, but I can`t for the life of me find the missing file.

    I know I could make the template again from scratch, but that would take ages and I really don`t want to do that..


    How can I find what file is missing ? If the prompt showed the filename it was looking for, that would be easy, but the vague message doesn`t help at all

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    294
    Quote Originally Posted by Nige View Post
    I have a pretty large template that has taken a long time to get right. When I load it I get the "This project uses input files that could not be opened"" message, but I can`t for the life of me find the missing file.

    I know I could make the template again from scratch, but that would take ages and I really don`t want to do that..


    How can I find what file is missing ? If the prompt showed the filename it was looking for, that would be easy, but the vague message doesn`t help at all
    You should be able to just click "OK" and have RaceRender still come up with everything (except the missing file).

    Once RaceRender is open, you can click on "Help" > "Show Diagnostic Log" to open the log. You can search through the file for each "Open input file" log message and see which file[s] don't have a corresponding "Successful open of input file" log message before the next "Open input file" message.

    If you had previously added an image to your template, I'd highly recommend adding it as an Embedded Image (i.e. "File" > "Add Embedded Image to Project") which will add the image as a Display Object rather than an Input File (which needs to be added each time).

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by HoboBob View Post
    You should be able to just click "OK" and have RaceRender still come up with everything (except the missing file).

    Once RaceRender is open, you can click on "Help" > "Show Diagnostic Log" to open the log. You can search through the file for each "Open input file" log message and see which file[s] don't have a corresponding "Successful open of input file" log message before the next "Open input file" message.

    If you had previously added an image to your template, I'd highly recommend adding it as an Embedded Image (i.e. "File" > "Add Embedded Image to Project") which will add the image as a Display Object rather than an Input File (which needs to be added each time).
    Have you tried the log for that purpose ? I looked at it but can`t see any failed file or similar listed.

    I can still click OK and load the project, that`s not the issue, I just want to remove the object that`s causing the issue.

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    294
    Yep. I took my most recent project, moved a video file into a different folder (so that it can't be found), and then opened the project. I get the following output in my log:

    2022-02-21 18:20:49,"Open Project 'C:\Users\<User>\Videos\Fiesta ST\2021-11-13 MBCA\Lap6.rrp'"
    2022-02-21 18:20:49,"Open input file [0] 'C:\Users\<User>\Videos\Fiesta ST\2021-11-13 MBCA\GH010210-Stabilized.MP4.mp4'"
    2022-02-21 18:20:49,"Attempting MediaMfOpen('C:\Users\<User>\Videos\Fiesta ST\2021-11-13 MBCA\GH010210-Stabilized.MP4.mp4')"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"MF length: 116.183"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"MediaInfo length: 116.183"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"[Code ] -27 'MediaInfoExtractTrackAddict'"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"Successful open of input file [0] F:7 A:7 D:0 G:0"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"2704 x 1520 (32 BPP), 116.18 seconds"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"48000 Hz, 16-bit, 2 channels"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"Open input file [1] 'C:\Users\<User>\Videos\Fiesta ST\2021-11-13 MBCA\GOPR0751.MP4'"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"[Code] -80 'InputHandlerOpen' Param: 1"
    2022-02-21 18:20:50,"Open input file [2] 'C:\Users\<User>\Videos\Fiesta ST\2021-11-13 MBCA\Lap 6.csv'"
    I think searching for "[Code] -80 'InputHandlerOpen' Param: 1" and then looking for the file that is trying to be opened directly above it will show you which file is missing. In this case, it's my GOPR0751.MP4 file.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    30
    I assume it`s this, but I don`t for the life of me know what the problem is as the file exists, it contains all the ECU data that is displayed just fine.

    It's the "OpenGoProFile" part I`m confused about. I don`t have a GoPro.

    2022-02-24 19:27:10,"Open input file [0] 'C:\Users\nigel\OneDrive\Desktop\Dash Logs\2022\Jan\Oulton\11.4 22_1_2022 acqui4198_20hz.csv'"
    2022-02-24 19:27:10,"Attempting MediaDataloggerOpen('C:\Users\nigel\OneDrive\Deskt op\Dash Logs\2022\Jan\Oulton\11.4 22_1_2022 acqui4198_20hz.csv', New:0)"
    2022-02-24 19:27:10,"[Code] -1 'MediaDataloggerOpenGoProFile'"
    2022-02-24 19:27:10,"[Code] -84 'MediaDataloggerOpenFitFile'"
    2022-02-24 19:27:11,"NMEA Samples: 0 (RMC: 0, GGA: 0, GLL: 0)"
    2022-02-24 19:27:11,"[Code] -1 'MediaDataloggerOpenNmeaFile'"
    2022-02-24 19:27:11,"[Code] -81 'MediaDataloggerOpenXmlFile'"
    2022-02-24 19:27:11,"[Code] -81 'MediaDataloggerOpenJsonFile'"
    2022-02-24 19:27:11,"File sample contains 10400 commas, 0 tabs, 0 semi-colons, and 0 bars. Separator value: 44"

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    294
    I see that GoPro log message when it's opening my CSV files as well; not sure why... Do you see a "Successful open of input file" later in the log?