Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sanity Check on 4L60e settings

Sanity Check on 4L60e settings

Hello gurus,

I'm running a cammed 2000 5.3L Gen3 + 4L60e + 3500 stall installed by a PO. I'm trying to actually reduce the firmness of the 1>2 shift, especially when cold, as it feels way too firm and I'm concerned the current settings may be hurting the trans. This isn't a drag racer but it is a street driven toy I occasionally have some fun with if that makes sense. Anyway, I'm a complete noobie when it comes to tuning but have been reading and comparing tunes to try and learn. I have no idea if the trans was rebuilt or beefed up but I suspect it wasn't.

I can see comparing against a stock tune a lot of changes had been done to the transmission parameters. Can someone sanity check my settings and let me know if what was done is sane or are they really hard for a street driven transmission? I really want to reduce some of the firmness in my shifts, especially the 1>2. Would you simply reduce the shift pressure tables or is there a lot more to it than that?

Thanks so much for helping me out.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    1981 C3 Corvette, 2001 LS, 4L60e

I'm no expert, but I do have a 4l60 behind a 427 stroker and nitrous, that lives. Only real thing I saw was the 'desired shift times'. I'd put .300 in the section normal shift times, in the 280 and under. For 320 and up, I'd go to .200. You could go as low as .100 in the upper parts. I think I have .350 in my lower torque areas, but I have a beefed up trans with all the goodies, so it already has a shift kit.
    2005 gto A4
    Darton sleeved 427, prc ls3 heads, custom cam 243/257
    Fti 3400 triple disc convertor
    553/555 N/A 839/823 nitrous on hub dyno