Thread: PWM fan help

PWM fan help

Hey guys,
    I'm hoping there's an answer here. I'm trying to get my fans working using a C6 PWM fan controller. The ECU is an E38 set up for a 2015 Z28 LS7. The tune file was set up for discrete fan control as I received it. I tried copying over all the fan settings from one of the C6 cars I used to own, but the fans do not operate.

After doing some searching here, it seems a segment swap might be the answer. I was going to try it with one of my C6 files, but the segment swap option is grayed out. I'm guessing that means something isn't compatible? I found a 2015 SS sedan tune files that look to be compatible, so I was going to try that. I have zero experience with this, and don't want to cause any permanent damage or brick the ECU. The main OS is the same between my tune file and the SS file, so I'm hoping the segment swap will work.

Files in question are attached. Thanks

2015 SS manual.hpt

Andy's LS7 speartech file.hpt

Guess I will answer my own question: swapping the system segment from the SS file fixed my fan issues.

I've seen/fixed that issue before with a Corvette OS, didn't know the same thing applied to Camaro.

EDIT: Just found the files, it WAS a Camaro OS!

Quote Originally Posted by blindsquirrel View Post
    I've seen/fixed that issue before with a Corvette OS, didn't know the same thing applied to Camaro.
    The thread I mentioned to you posting on was a 2011 Camaro OS, and you fixed it with a Corvette OS segment swap. I tried the same thing with this 2015 Z28 setup, but it seems that none of the C6 OS are compatible. I figured I would look at the SS sedan, since it is a newer car with a similar powertrain. I’m glad it worked.

Yep, just an earlier one. Mine is a manual, so hopefully it does not cause any other issues.