Thread: Identifying false knock?

Potential Tuner

Identifying false knock?

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Car: 2005 GTO, 6.0l LS2
    Mods: Fast102 intake, Kooks stepped headers
    Fuel: Shell 93 TT (only)
    Wideband: idk, the AEM one with CANBUS

I've been dipping my toe into tuning the last few months, dialing in VE and MAF using stft, and using an AEM wb to do the wot stuff. The whole time I kept checking the knock retard histogram to make sure I was still safe when making fueling changes, and because I'm a noob I didn't realize that no numbers at all is not the same as no knock retard-- I hadn't been logging it the whole time.

So when I started logging it I right away was getting up to 5 degrees of retard during times when I wouldn't expect to be getting knock, not that I really know. So as a test I pulled 5 degrees out of the whole high octane base table thinking that if I still get some kr then I can rest assured that it's just overly sensitive sensors or at the very least it's coming from somewhere else besides genuine spark knock. I've been posting about it on ls1gto but the new forum platform won't let me post logs.

maf13.hpl - the wb wasn't logging for this log, but I don't suspect that it was lean during the kr
    maf15.hpl - I did get a couple degrees of kr during a wot pull at 11 minutes in, so that's possibly genuine
    maf16.hpl - same, couple degrees during wot pulls, these look like they could be real to me
    maf17.hpl - back to kr at what seems to me to be weird times, 6 minutes in. Just set the cruise control it looks like but the map goes up and it looks like it's anticipating knock. 8 minutes in, 5 degrees of kr at the beginning of a wot pull.