Thread: Comparing Edge Controller vs Stock tune - 07 Tahoe 5.3L

Potential Tuner

Comparing Edge Controller vs Stock tune - 07 Tahoe 5.3L

So I'm just starting to dive tuning for the first time as I've made come significant upgrades to 07 Tahoe w/ the 5.3L.
    However, prior to rebuilding the engine and throwing on some other bolt-ons I had an Edge CTS2 Tunner/controller which made a few changes to my engine (Level 2) and trans (Towing). Unfortunately, after using the Edge for a few years, the screen locked up on me so I was unable to change any tunes or settings or even return the tune to stock.
    So I am starting with the Edge tune as the basis for modifying for my existing mods.

But since I am still learning, I wanted to see what the differences were from the OE tune vs the edge tune. Hopefully comparing the two (for a stock engine) would give me some insight into the changes made and help me learn what kind of changes would need to be made to make more power and/or run more efficiently.
    (The trans tune is irrelevant, since I swapped the 4L60 with a 6L80. I've never pulled any tune from the 4L60.)

So I pulled a base tune off the Tuner Repository for an 07 Tahoe and compared it to the current tune (made by Edge).
    Looks like quite a few differences! This gist of what I am seeing (by my noob analysis) is the Edge tuner leaned out the fuel and adjusted to spark tables for a little more power.

But since my current mods help the engine breathe so much better (plus the cam) I'm thinking the Edge leaned it out way too much for the current mods. I'm currently throwing a Bank 1/2 lean code. I'm thinking my best move is to return everything back to the stock tune from the repository and work from there...

So I have not done any tweaking of the tune at all since getting the engine running, so this is not necessarily a request for a tune analysis.
    Just wanted to show what the difference between the OE tune and Edge tune look like.