Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HHR locked tune, can it be overwritten ?

  1. #1

    HHR locked tune, can it be overwritten ?

    customer wants to return to stock and the pcm has a locked tune, x7F.
    if i use a stock tune from the repo, change the vin, and apply 2 credits .. it should work, right ?
    Last edited by fixit; 05-24-2022 at 09:14 AM.

  2. #2
    Tuning Addict 5FDP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    12,734
    No.

    You have to be able to read and license the file on the computer to change anything. He has a paper weight on his hands, would come in handy if he does like accounting for a living. He'll need to purchase a new computer with the VIN programmed to it. Not sure I'd use HP Tuners for that because it'll cost you $200 in credits if you found a new computer and HP Tuners can't program all segments that go with his vehicle.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

    If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Waldorf MD
    Posts
    761
    Maybe reflash to stock with a TechII-style device?
    Daily Driver= 2003 BMW 330xi
    Weekend Cruiser= 2009 Pontiac G8 GT (Vararam, TSP LS3 N/A Stage 1, OBX, CTS-V converter, MagnaFlows w/ J-Pipes, 160 t-stat)
    Project Car= 1991 Chevrolet Camaro RS (LQ4 w/ Gen 4 Rods, LS3 heads, turbo...)
    Truck= 2007 Chevy Silverado 1500 LT LY5 4x4

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    326
    Is it trifecta tune? If so, contact them, I've heard they'll loan out a flash cable for people in this situation

  5. #5
    not sure who's tune it is.. i'll send trifecta the VIN

  6. #6
    would a write entire work?
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    No.

    You have to be able to read and license the file on the computer to change anything. He has a paper weight on his hands, would come in handy if he does like accounting for a living. He'll need to purchase a new computer with the VIN programmed to it. Not sure I'd use HP Tuners for that because it'll cost you $200 in credits if you found a new computer and HP Tuners can't program all segments that go with his vehicle.

  7. #7
    Tuning Addict 5FDP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    12,734
    It won't. You still have to be able to read and license the computer first before doing anything.

    His options are to try and overwrite the computer with the GM tool to his VIN or buy a new computer and have that flashed with a GM tool.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

    If you don't post your tune and logs when you have questions you aren't helping yourself.

  8. #8
    appreciate the advice, will do the GM refresh.. i have a buddie.. that could use a case of PBR's
    did GM ever offer stage tunes ?
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    It won't. You still have to be able to read and license the computer first before doing anything.

    His options are to try and overwrite the computer with the GM tool to his VIN or buy a new computer and have that flashed with a GM tool.

  9. #9
    Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    4,432
    If its for the 2.0 Turbo SS model (LNF engine) then yes they did. All other options, no.
    If you have the 2.0 LNF SS model you will need the 3 bar sensors to go with the flash. There are repository files that you can use to copy and paste the changed ecu data into your ecu file, otherwise you'll have to work out another option (talk to dealership, pre-flashed ecu, remote tune, etc.)

    https://zzperformance.com/collection...tage-1-sensors
    2000 Ford Mustang - Top Sportsman

  10. #10
    Senior Tuner cobaltssoverbooster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    4,432
    If you really know what your doing then you dont need the kit sensors. I believe the kit bumps the boost to 18-19 psi and the stock 2.5 bar sensors stop at 22.5 psi (255 kpa). To know you haven't blown past their limit its best to tune for 20 psi (234 kpa) on oem 2.5 bar sensors.
    The cobalt and hhr got the same dealer file. The solstice and sky had different files.
    2000 Ford Mustang - Top Sportsman