Thread: 6l80 won't shift at WOT.

Potential Tuner

6l80 won't shift at WOT.

I have a L77 6.0 w/6l80 out of 2017 Caprice police car with 20k miles on it swapped into a 56 Chevy. I put a trans tune out of the Tuning School trans guide. Car seems to shift better than before (It shifted very soft before) , but at WOT it won't go in gear. It sounds like it bounces off a rev limiter at 6000. I raised rev limiter to 6500 and lowered the WOT shift to 5500 rpm to see if would shift, but it still cuts out at 6000rpm and won't go into gear until I lift off throttle. Put a scan on it and I noticed the trans output shaft reads 0 rpm. Does that mean the sensor would be bad? Doesn't have very many miles on it. I'm new to this so I just want to make sure I'm not missing something on the tuning side before I go and pull the valve body to change the sensor. Any advice would be appreciated.

Senior Tuner
    It's going to shift by speed first. When you tried to lower the WOT shift points did you adjust the shift speed also? In the full throttle tables and also in the part throttle tables.
    Tuner at PCMofnc.com
    Email tuning!!!, Mail order, Dyno tuning, Performance Parts, Electric Fan Kits, 4l80e swap harnesses, 6l80 -> 4l80e conversion harnesses, Installs

Potential Tuner
    Thanks for the response. No I haven't tried that. I'll give that a shot this evening and see if it changes anything.

Tuner in Training
    Quote Originally Posted by Hartley View Post