Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Electric Fan Conversion AC Issue

Tuner in Training

Electric Fan Conversion AC Issue

I'll try to keep this post short, and yes, I promise I used the "search" button...

Specs:

I recently swapped a 99 Gen 3 LM7 into my 1988 Chevy C1500 pickup. I'll attach the tune, but it was taken from a stock 2002 12212156 OS with VATS turned off and the necessary CELs as well.

The PCM is a P01 4.3l, and the wiring is completely custom (I'm an Electrical Engineer by trade).

A/C is wired like an old chevy van with a cycling switch and high pressure switch (12V ac on signal from the hvac module).

Fans are two one-speed fans with a relay for each, ground switched to pins 33 and 42.

Fan settings were copied from 05 5.3 stock tune, with mode to "fan 2" and type to "analog cycling".

Writing full tune not partial.

Issue:

Fans work fine with temperature and manual switching in VCM scanner, but do not come on with A/C (which does switch compressor on/off).

All the forum posts I found either indicate take the settings from an 05 to "patch", or if using the older OS upgrade to 02 (which I have done).

Hopefully this is just something simple I have missed! Thanks in advance for any assistance.

88chevy1500afterUpgrade.hpt

Senior Tuner
    You should wire the fans like GM does with 3 relays so they both run low speed when command fan 1 on and both run high speed when command fan 2 on. You have to do some modification to the A/C system to get fans to run based on A/C pressures. Here is a good write up on how to do it. And the GM fan wiring.

https://www.performancetrucks.net/fo...ontrol-553385/
    Attached Images Attached Images