Thread: 05 Cummins

Tuner in Training

05 Cummins

Got my 05 cummins working really good but it runs hot for egt i got them down by bumping up the timing to 11* but im wondering what is the most timing i can throw at a stock truck?
    Im pretty happy with how it works on my mild tune but im looking to be able to get 150-200hp tune and have that reliable.

Banned
    What?s hot for egt? Where? Where you putting 11 degrees of timing? What are you doing in the tune and where? You?ve provided nothing to give any kind of answer other than if you want a reliable extra 200hp, start upgrading parts from stock.

Tuner in Training
    Question was how much timing can i throw at the truck
    Its 11* at 2900 rpm in main injection timing
    Was at 1600 egt i got it down to 1300egt at wot for a few seconds good working truck. I know there is stock trucks able to be tuned for another 150-200hp safely
    Im new to tuning so im sorry im not clear just trying to learn by asking
    I would like to know what guys change to get good results
    Im happy with my mild tune it but i just want to figure out how make a ?hot tune? more reliable because it will bury the needle on the egt gauge but it works unreal

Banned
    I?ll repeat myself, even though I hate repeating myself?. and I will add an extra word in, if you want a safe and reliable extra 200 hp, start upgrading parts from stock. Just because someone can push an extra 200 hp out of a stock truck, doesn?t make it safe or reliable. You are exceeding limits. Take it for what you want but that?s a hard fact of life. It will be hot, smokey, exceeding limits of the turbo and fuel system, if your factory lift pump can even keep up with the demand and your cylinder pressures will be higher than desired.

11 degrees at 2900 rpms is a meaningless number. It?s all relative to fuel pressure, injector duration, air flow, boost pressure, altitude, etc etc etc.

Banned