Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete tuning process

Tuner in Training

Complete tuning process

May be a stupid question but I want to go through every process of tuning to ensure I get a good understanding of everything, I plan on tuning the fuel trims and using a WB, what are to proper steps in tuning like MAP, SD, VVE so on and so forth, also if I understand with 4 gen in order to add fuel you and to add air flow correct? Also trying to understand how to up inj cycle duty? And once all tuning is said and done and I want to start adding timing and air flow or fuel into it do I do it after the fact or do it during the tuning process? Again probably a stupid question to most but I'm overly cautious when it comes to doing something new.
    Thanks in advance

Tuner
    I have tuned my MAF and it was amazingly easy to do. I’m new to HPtuners as well. It took me a while before I felt comfortable to tune the MAF and this forum answered many of my questions before I tried doing it. I want to do all the mods on my truck myself and also all the tuning. So after getting comfortable with the scanner and setting up my AEM wideband I looked to YouTube to discover how to set up the scanner graph for MAF tuning. There are many good videos there with details on setting up the table you need. It really just took me some time to figure out what was needed and why.

Set up a MAF tune file where you:

In Airflow, Dynamic
    Disable dynamic airflow
    Change High rpm disable so it doesn’t come on
    Change High rpm re-enable so it doesn’t come on

In Fuel, oxygen sensors
    Change O2 readiness so it doesn’t come on
    Change Long term fuel trims disable min and max

In Temp control
    Disable COT that cools cats

In Fuel cutoff
    Disable DFCO

Load the file into vehicle, vehicle should still run fine/ no changes perceived.

Run the scanner with the table for tuning the MAF that was already created via the YouTube video.