Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 350 Vortec with Cam Tune problems

Tuner in Training

350 Vortec with Cam Tune problems

I'm pretty new to tuning and I am doing my best over here not to blow up my engine, lol. Not funny tho!

I put a 5.7 vortec in my 99 GMC Jimmy and did the 0411 swap as well. I got that all installed, slapped a stock Express Van tune on it and everything was great for about 30k. The junk yard engine decided it needed rebuilt so that's what I did.

Specs
    Bored .30 over
    Flat top pistons (7cc relief for the valves.)
    Summit Racing heads (flow a little better but nothing major)
    Mellings 22280 cam (283 int./287 exh.)
    Headman short headers
    rebuild 4l60e /w corvette servos and shift kit

For some reason I just cant get this tune right. I have made few adjustments to get it running but it runs rough and has no power. below are my notes on what I've done and Ive attached my tune file. If anyone can help me out I'd greatly appreciate it. My goal is horse power or course but I also want to see if I can get a tune that still keeps a decent MPG. Thank you guy

Jimerra Tune 1

Temp Control
    COT: Disabled

Tach Output: +1

VATS: Disabled
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jimerra Tune 2

Idle-RPM
    Base Setpoint: Multiplied by 1.35 (35%)

Idle-Airflow
    Base Running Airflow: Multiplied from 68/deg up 1.50 (50%) Interpolated from 25Deg up

Spark-Advanced
    Idle Spark Advance: set to 28 deg in idle range(1200 and below) for both Park and Drive.

Spark-Advanced
    Idle ADAPTIVE Spark control :Adjusted to put smalles value at 50 rpm
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by lazydogtuning; 08-15-2022 at 07:53 PM.

That's a ton of base running airflow to add, I probably wouldn't have done that much.

You're going to need a wideband oxygen sensor for tuning, the entire MAF and VE table will need to be gone over.