Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here, with a 2015 Chevy Trax 1.4L turbo

Tuner in Training

Newbie here, with a 2015 Chevy Trax 1.4L turbo

Hi everyone,

I'm new around, and I have no idea how to tune, I do not have a dyno, or one readily available.

I'm looking to find an easy way to tune my 2015 Chevrolet Trax LTZ AWD 1.4L turbo to get a bit more power and better fuel economy. I already use high octane fuel as the regular fuel here is really "cheap", as in heavily cut with Ethanol (+10%), which my cat really doesn't like at all. I've been going many times in the States, or in Western provinces, as I live in Quebec Canada, and regular fuel is not a problem there at all, but here, the Trax never liked regular fuel, even when it was brand new.

As I'm already running high octane fuel, I was considering getting a performance chip upgrade. I was looking at the Diablo I3, which seems really easy to use, but very limited, and of course the HP Tuner option too. I've been reading up a bit on the website and the forum, and it REALLY seems to be for more advanced user.

What I would like to do is get a generic "high octane" tune that I could simply push into my ECM, and, if possible, be able to adjust tire size for odometer and fuel economy correction when I use Winter tires. I would also really like to be able to tune the BCM for options like when to turn on headlights, and such like you can do with AlfaOBD on a Dodge.

I do not intend to visit a tuner, or a dyno guy, and get the most power I can squeeze out of my ride, all I want is a generic "more power and better fuel economy" preset tune, without the hassle of doing a complete tune myself.

Is this a possibility with HP Tuners? If yes, what would I need to do this? Any special hardware or software? If not possible, is the Diablo I3 a good option?

I already own a OBDLink MX+ that I use to monitor my engine with "Torque" with my cell phone, can it be used to reprogram my ECM and BCM like with AlphaOBD?