Thread: LY6 + Chuck Norris Cam in 07 Tahoe

Potential Tuner

LY6 + Chuck Norris Cam in 07 Tahoe

Hey all, complete noob here. Been searching this forum and watching videos to better understand what's going on but there's a lot to digest. I recently put a 4th gen 6.0 w/ VVT eliminated and BTR's Chuck Norris cam in my 07 Tahoe. Motor I pulled was a 5.3 w/ a mild TSP truck cam that decided it didn't need oil. An acquaintence (friend of a friend) provided me with a base tune and a couple adjustments to get me going. He's currently pretty busy with work so I'm taking up the mantle since it's my wife's kid hauler.

Engine:
    Junkyard 6.0 w/ stock 6.0 heads and intake. Heads were hot tanked, valve jobbed and rebuilt.
    Injectors are from the 5.3 and were sent to get cleaned out and flow tested. Big improvement.
    Cam and associate components from BTR are the only aftermarket compenants, everything else is stock.

I don't have the stock 5.3 tune since I picked up an HP Tuner after I added the TSP cam.

Issues:
    Cold start is pretty solid, but on a hot start up I have to pedal the throttle to get it started.
    Idle is pretty rough. It'll be smooth one moment, rough another, then occasionally start bucking.

Car is drivable, it's the idle currently that I'm having a problem with. When I was poking around the tune file I noticed the Cranking Spark table had some -10 at high temp and low rpm cells. Everything else is the same straight across the board except higher temps (212, 248 & 284). Is that correct or should I adjust those?

Also, I noticed the VVT intake tables were populated instead of zero'd out like in my 5.3 tune. Should these be zero'd, or is there option somewhere to turn it off like there is DOD?

Next question I have, based off looking through other posts, am I barking up the wrong tree here?

Thanks.

EDIT: was trying to include a screen capture, but I screwed something up somewhere....
    Last edited by Triple P; 09-29-2022 at 07:43 PM.