Thread: Tuning for Headers

Tuner in Training

Tuning for Headers

I just installed my Pacesetter LT. The truck needs a tune so what should I start "adjusting"? I'm a newbie and learn from other people giving me the basic info I need and run with it.

Thanks
    99 RCSB Chevy 5.3
    00 ECSB GMC 5.3

Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by ak_silverado
    I just installed my Pacesetter LT. The truck needs a tune so what should I start "adjusting"? I'm a newbie and learn from other people giving me the basic info I need and run with it.

Thanks
    Buy an LM-1 Wideband ($350 or so), set up to read a/f ratio and monitor with LM-1 or Datalogger on HP software/hardware and then adjust accordingly. LM-1 will data log also.

Quote Originally Posted by anymanusa
    Buy an LM-1 Wideband ($350 or so), set up to read a/f ratio and monitor with LM-1 or Datalogger on HP software/hardware and then adjust accordingly. LM-1 will data log also.
    exactly. Tuning is tuning, no matter what part you get. Follow the write ups and the other threads on here that go through it.
    Sulski Performance Tuning
    2000 WS6 M6 - LS6 (long block, refreshed top end), 10.8:1 CR, 90 mm ported FAST, Exo-Skel, 227/232 cam, QTP HVMC, EWP, GMMG, 9" w/4.11s
    2018 Sierra SLT 5.3L A8 - Airaid intake tube, GM Borla catback, L86 Intake/Ported TB

Tuner in Training
    brother loaded a tune...truck has more balls then ever. So I'll ask him what he did to it. I know he played with the a/f ratio and torqe managment.

Thanks
    99 RCSB Chevy 5.3
    00 ECSB GMC 5.3

brother loaded a tune...truck has more balls then ever. So I'll ask him what he did to it. I know he played with the a/f ratio and torqe managment.

Thanks
    Just disabling the torque management will give it "more balls than ever". That doesn't mean the tune is right. You still need to get a wideband to do it correctly. You can get a good wideband for < $200. Check out the PLX brand.
    2005 C-6

Specs:

- '05 Z51 'vette 'vert