Thread: How to limit horsepower for NASA racing

Tuner in Training

How to limit horsepower for NASA racing

Anyone have thoughts on how to reduce horsepower on an engine? The car is 2006 Corvette with E38.

I am going to run NASA ST1 next year and it requires a HP to weight ratio. My 427 makes 576 RWHP and I need to trim it down to around 520.

I have a GM Stage 3 cam in it now, but also have a Katech Torquer that I could stick in it. I would probably make around 550 RWHP in that setup. Wonder if I should stick with the Stage 3 cam, or use the Katech cam "I will lose power up top", then try and reduce the power with throttle opening?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. I've never tried to lose power before.
    Last edited by jkittleson; 10-12-2010 at 12:04 PM. Reason: added model of car and ECM model

Senior Tuner
    For what you want to do, the power under the curve is important. Run which ever cam will give you more. A throttle restrictor will also negatively effect this, I would not do this unless absolutely necessary. My solution would be tuning the engine on the dyno, just pulling the timing out in the required areas. Normally we adjust to reach a peak horsepower number. Its not uncommon to pick up 50+ horsepower on a modified engine setting the tune up right, you just need to dial it back. My 2 cents worth...

Tuner
    At what RPM does the car make above the power to weight ratio? Remember HP is a function of Torque X RPM so if you can limit your RPM with a lower rev limiter then maybe you would keep it below the HP:Weight ratio required. This way you wouldn't lose any torque for coming out of the turns with. You would just need to shift more often maybe.
    Otherwise I would probably back timing off along with maybe a more restrictive exhaust or intake.

Just pull timing extremely aggressive at the point where you start making full power. The Katech Torquer might work out better for you, ultimately.

DSX Tuning - Authorized HP Tuners Dealer