Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: reading air fuel

Potential Tuner

reading air fuel

Just got HP tuners and did my first log today. I've never done tuning before.
    I'm trying to figure out if I'm running rich or lean.

This might be dumb, but in the histogram I click on the air/fuel tab and it shows this chart. I'm assuming it's the RPMs going accross and something else going down. all the numbers logged onto the chart are between 63 and 961. I'm just wondering what these numbers are. I guess I thought it would just show me 12.8:1 or 14.6:1 or numbers like that for each RPM.

Advanced Tuner

Re: reading air fuel

It's showing you the voltage of you narrowband O2's. You can't obtain a reliable AFR from the narrowband O2's because their measurement is sensitive to temperature and is only accurate around 14.7 AFR which is about .450 or .500 volts (can't remember which). Don't be alamed by very high and low reading on you narrowband O2's, they are designed to swing back and forth like that. So don't think if you have a value of .062 volts that you are way lean because you might just be in a low part of the O2 occilation. You need a wideband O2 to get an accurate AFR.
    Phil K.
    02 Camaro SS 5.7L LS1
    01 Silverado 1500HD 6.0L LQ4 4L80E 78/75 turbo with Flex Fuel

Senior Tuner

Also the "something else" on those charts are the load on the engine values. The higher the number (going down the chart), the more load is on the engine. You'll see this more apparent when you accelerate hard or are going up a hill.

Potential Tuner

So if the number is like 800. that means it's .800mv? I know they aren't that accurate but I just wanted to get a good enough grasp as to whether or not I'm running extremely lean or not under WOT.

Another question. what are the numbers going down under advance and retard represent?

Advanced Tuner

800 = 800 millivolts

The o2 sensors operate on 1 volt, so the values are always mv