Thread: Need help with high idle issue

Tuner in Training

Need help with high idle issue

I've been having this problem since I ran at my local drag strip about 3 weeks ago, ran it down the 1/4, as I was slowing down the car was doing the cruise control thing, I figured it would stop once I parked, well stayed at about 1400. I've checked everything, all the vacuum lines, intake for leaks (sprayed starting fluid around the base), checked the throttle linkage well I went out there last week and started it up and it was idling at 1400, so I unplugged the TPS switch, and the idle dropped back to normal, so I figured the TPS switch was bad because I also check the TPS when the car was off and it was reading 1%. So I changed the TPS out and the car ran awesome when it was cold, but once you started driving it and it warmed, up started to do the cruise control effect again but the idle would come down after a little bit. I am at a lose on what do to now, I'm new to tuning so I'm not really sharp on idle tuning but I followed the method on here and also on LS1 tuning.com. It still doing the cruise effect but not as bad, I can't figure out what to change on the idle tune. Can anyone point me the right direction?? Been fighting with this car for 3 weeks and haven't gotten anywhere. BTW the car has an LS6 intake on with new gaskets I installed about 5 months ago and I also have an MTI TB.

Tuner in Training

Re: Need help with high idle issue

come on, nobody has any advice??

Tuner

Cruise control effect is often from having too much idle air. Try reducing the raf and see if that helps.
    98 M6 TA, mods: tsp torquer(233/233 .589 112), Patriot golds, ls6 oil pump, ls6 intake, tsp lid, pacesetter LT\'s and ORY, magnaflow, fra, HPTUNER!

Tuner in Training

how much should I reduce the table?? I'm a newb to this so I am learning as I go.

Tuner

Quote Originally Posted by Hardtop00SS