Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 74

Thread: Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep/RAM PCM Identification - VCM Suite 3.0+

  1. #1
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413

    Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep/RAM PCM Identification - VCM Suite 3.0+

    I'm going to take a page out of Eric's book here.

    With support now available up to 2015, as well as Chrysler introducing multiple PCMs in the more recent years, I created this thread to aid in which PCM type you need to select to read your PCM. NOTE: You only will need to select a PCM type if VCM Suite doesn't recognize which type automatically when you press "Gather Info".


    NGC3


    • 2004 - 2005 Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep Supported Vehicles4
    • 2006 Jeep Wrangler 4.0L
    • 2004 - 2007 Dodge Caravan & 2007 Chrysler Town & Country


    NGC3 CAN


    • 2006 Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep Supported Vehicles4 (except Caravan, Town & Country, & Wrangler, see NGC3)


    NGC4


    • All Other Supported 2007 - 2010 Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep Vehicles4 (except 2007 Caravan & 2007 Town & Country, see NGC3)


    NGC4A


    • 2011 Jeep Wrangler
    • 2011 Dodge Caravan & 2011 Chrysler Town & Country
    • 2011 - 2012 RAM Trucks (GAS only)
    • 2011 RAM Dakota
    • 2011 - 2013 Dodge Durango
    • 2011 - 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee (EXCEPT SRT8)
    • 2011 - 2012 Jeep Liberty
    • 2011 - 2012 Dodge Nitro


    GPEC3


    • 2008 - 2009 Dodge Caliber SRT4
    • 2007 - 2010 Dodge Caliber 2.0L,2.4L
    • 2008 - 2010 Dodge Avenger 2.0L,2.4L
    • 2009 - 2010 Dodge Journey 2.4L
    • 2007 - 2010 Chrysler Sebring 2.0L,2.4L
    • 2007 - 2010 Jeep Compass 2.0L, 2.4L
    • 2007 - 2010 Jeep Patriot 2.0L,2.4L


    GPEC2


    • 2011 - 2014 Dodge Challenger (all trims)
    • 2011 - 2014 Dodge Charger (all trims) & 2011 - 2014 Chrysler 300/300C (all trims)
    • 2011 - 2014 Dodge Avenger 3.6L
    • 2012 - 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8 & 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee (non-SRT8)
    • 2012 - 2014 Jeep Wrangler
    • 2012 - 2014 Dodge Caravan & Chrysler Town & Country
    • 2013 - 2014 RAM Trucks (except 6.4L) (GAS Only) (US Models1)
    • 2014 Dodge Durango
    • 2011 - 2014 Dodge Journey 3.6L


    29Bit GPEC2


    • 2013 - 2014 Dodge Dart 2.0L
    • 2014 Jeep Cherokee 3.2L


    GPEC2, 2015+ Dodge


    • 2015-2017 Jeep Wrangler 3.6L2
    • 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT 6.4L2
    • 2015 Dodge Durango 3.6L


    GPEC2, 2015+ Dodge 29Bit CAN


    • 2015 Chrysler 200 3.6L


    GPEC2A, 2014 Dodge Trucks


    • 2014 RAM Trucks 6.4L
    • 2014 RAM Trucks 5.7L (Mexico Models1)


    GPEC2A, 2015+ Dodge


    • 2015-2017 Model Year Supported Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep/RAM vehicles2,4 (except those equipped with GPEC2, 2015+ Dodge)



    1Select 2014 RAM Trucks equipped with the 5.7L Hemi have switched to GPEC2A in 2014. From what I've come across so far, it appears that U.S. models are still GPEC2s while primarily Mexico models have switched to GPEC2A. If you read a 2014 RAM Truck with the 5.7L Hemi, you may be asked to re-read if we discover the wrong type is selected.

    22015+ model year Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep/RAM vehicles require your PCM to be modified by purchasing the PCM modification here ("PCM Modification Service - $249" located under "Order Additional Accessories") and sending your PCM in to be modified. For more information regarding this service, please see the following thread: 2015+ Dodge Tuning (Important Information) or email Sales. Once the PCM has been unlocked, your VCM Suite/MPVI will be enabled for 2015+ Mopar tuning.

    3 NOTE FOR GPEC PCMs ONLY:Your PCM must contain the current Chrysler Operating System, outdated operating systems will not flash.

    4 HP Tuners.com Supported Vehicle List




    The line between controllers can get kind confusing. If you would like to know which PCM type you should select to read your vehicle, please post below and I will let you know.

    In the event that you receive the "Definition failed to load." error after reading your Dodge vehicle. Please send the file to support. (see: Definition failed to load thread for more information)

    Thanks!

    Last edited by Mark@HPTuners; 12-22-2016 at 09:36 AM. Reason: added 29Bit GPEC2

  2. #2
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    21
    This looks great Mark, wish i had this before xmas trying to read a 13 Ram.

  3. #3
    Tuner Ls3sierra406's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Good work continue the progress guys!

  4. #4
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    N-B ,Canada
    Posts
    54
    Would anybody know if ever the 2014-2015 Ram 2500 6.4L gas engine will have support in the future?
    Thanks.

  5. #5
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by Motion427 View Post
    Would anybody know if ever the 2014-2015 Ram 2500 6.4L gas engine will have support in the future?
    Thanks.
    Its in the plan as it uses the same PCM as 2015 Dodge vehicles like the Hellcat. We will be working on it after 13/14 support is released

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    533
    Just wanted to verify something, I just took a read off of a 2008 Dodge Caliber SRT-4 to send into support. I didn't select any specific controller, instead I clicked on "Gather Info" to let it self-populate, upon which it self-selected GPEC1 for the ECU type. I then took the read with that selected. I hope that works for the read I sent in to you guys. I don't see anything in this list in regards to which ECU type the Calibers use, nor do I see anything at all mentioned about a GPEC1 ECU type, only a GPEC2.

    Let me know if I need to read the same vehicle again and select a different ECU type next time.

  7. #7
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by B00STJUNKY View Post
    Just wanted to verify something, I just took a read off of a 2008 Dodge Caliber SRT-4 to send into support. I didn't select any specific controller, instead I clicked on "Gather Info" to let it self-populate, upon which it self-selected GPEC1 for the ECU type. I then took the read with that selected. I hope that works for the read I sent in to you guys. I don't see anything in this list in regards to which ECU type the Calibers use, nor do I see anything at all mentioned about a GPEC1 ECU type, only a GPEC2.

    Let me know if I need to read the same vehicle again and select a different ECU type next time.
    Yes, that is fine. GPEC1 is the PCM used in the Calibers.
    Most of the time VCM Suite will populate the PCM for you and you will not have to select it. This thread is mainly for those instances where that doesn't occur and you are unsure which PCM type to choose. This tends to happen more often in the more recent years when they were using a couple PCMs and the line as to which vehicle used which isn't as clear. I will update the list to include the cars that use the GPEC1 once we get just a little further into finishing up support for it.

  8. #8
    how about a 2013 challenger SRT8?

  9. #9
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by 06black View Post
    how about a 2013 challenger SRT8?
    GPEC2 - It will only read for now, still working on write support

  10. #10
    hmmmm....

    using GPEC2 or GPEC2A it fails while reading the ecu.

    "Reader upload:Timed Out"

  11. #11
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by 06black View Post
    hmmmm....

    using GPEC2 or GPEC2A it fails while reading the ecu.

    "Reader upload:Timed Out"
    Are you using a recent version of the beta (2.25.xxxx))?

  12. #12
    2/4/2015 1:54:53 PM
    VCM Suite Product: VCM Editor 2.25.1358 Beta

  13. #13
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by 06black View Post
    2/4/2015 1:54:53 PM
    VCM Suite Product: VCM Editor 2.25.1358 Beta
    We are up to 2.25.1599 as of this morning. Its possible that all you need to probably do is update to a more recent beta. If you need access to the beta again just email support requesting access like before and they will put it on your customer page.

  14. #14
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    9
    What ECM is in the 2015 Durango 3.6
    Also, could you please send me the latest beta.

  15. #15
    HPT Employee Mark@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    36.1094, 115.1781
    Posts
    413
    Quote Originally Posted by Stl09 cts-v View Post
    What ECM is in the 2015 Durango 3.6
    Also, could you please send me the latest beta.
    Most likely a GPEC2A, but I don't know for sure yet because we haven't really dove into 2015 Models yet. Still working on 2013/2014 support.
    Note: 2015's will not even read yet so once read support is up I'll update the list in the original post above identifying which PCMs are in which 2015 models.

    Also, if you need access to the latest beta you need to Email Support requesting access. Please include your MPVI serial number in the email to support.

  16. #16
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    16
    How long does it usually take for "support" to return an email? Also, are we going to have to just email support periodically to see if there is a newer version? How do we keep current?

  17. #17
    Tuner TunedByNishan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Wood-Ridge, NJ
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by szemtrs View Post
    How long does it usually take for "support" to return an email? Also, are we going to have to just email support periodically to see if there is a newer version? How do we keep current?
    Mark does his best to get operating systems defined as quickly as possible. He is dedicated to it.

    I have received support within 24 hours before and other times in 2-3 days. It depends on the PCM.

    The reason that so many Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep reads fail to load is because there are so many operating system ID's out there that have not been defined or had the chance to make it's way to HP Tuners for Support since it is a platform that they have only recently begun supporting in relation to how long they've been around.

    Dealers often make updates to PCM's several times a year and this usually changes the OS ID.

    You can have the same exact year, model, & build date as another car but it might have a different OS ID because it saw the dealer for service and they applied an update.

    If you scan and read any 1997+ GM Vehicle, there is a good chance you will likely never run into any failed definition message because all those operating systems have been covered and supported already.

    The guys at HP Tuners have really been cranking down on Dodge PCM support.

    They depend on us for READ support so send in your files!
    www.tunedbynishan.com
    2018 Mustang GT - 10R80

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark@HPTuners View Post
    We are up to 2.25.1599 as of this morning. Its possible that all you need to probably do is update to a more recent beta. If you need access to the beta again just email support requesting access like before and they will put it on your customer page.
    now using
    2/11/2015 3:16:41 PM
    VCM Suite Product: VCM Editor 2.25.1630 Beta

    and still no luck on a 13 challenger 6.4L.

    :sadface:

  19. #19
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    25,620
    Correct, the 2013+ dodge pcm's(GPEC2) are not supported yet.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  20. #20
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    16
    Ok, so I downloaded the beta version, and I still can't get it to read. 2005 dodge ram 1500. I get to where it tells me to Turn ignition Off. Wait 3 seconds, Turn ignition on. And nothing happens, then it says Ignition Cycle: Timed Out. What's going on?

    Update: Ok, I got the TCM to read. When I tell it to not read the ecm and only read the tcm, instead of prompting me to turn ignition off and on in the same window, it pops up a new window with the prompts and then tell me to click"OK" when I have cycled the ignition, and when I click, "OK", it reads the TCM with no issues. It does not do this when trying to read the ECM.
    Last edited by szemtrs; 02-12-2015 at 09:46 PM.