Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2014 Ram 5.7 Oscillating idle

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25

    2014 Ram 5.7 Oscillating idle

    Stock truck oscillates at idle after mild recalibration. No idle tables were modified. Osciallates 2-400 rpms to 1100 in gear. Truck has was flashed over 2 weeks ago.

    Does Dodge have an idle relearn procedure for the new models ? Battery has been reset. TIA

  2. #2
    I know the fix for this issue go to engine torque management out back the retard in this will go away.......

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    25
    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    14
    Why would zeroing engine torque management torque retard cause the idle to oscillate?

  5. #5
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,530
    Quote Originally Posted by 68Poncho View Post
    Why would zeroing engine torque management torque retard cause the idle to oscillate?
    The idle control strategy (and most of the other dodge systems) is a heavily torque based system which uses timing to quickly adjust idle torque. If you zero out, or otherwise change, the torque management timing values in the idle ranges, it will effect the idle control.
    Jaime

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    14
    That make sense to me. So how would TM be adjusted so there is no retard during shift but the idle remain constant? Thanks

  7. #7
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,864
    Torque Management>Shift TqRed - lower or set to zero

    Most of the torque management that is transmission related is going to be in the TCM itself, not sure you can adjust at ALL in HP Tuners.

  8. #8
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    14
    Anyone know if HPT is working on access to the TCM?

  9. #9
    Senior Tuner
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1,864
    Quote Originally Posted by 68Poncho View Post
    Anyone know if HPT is working on access to the TCM?
    Confirmed they in fact are, no idea on the timing yet.