Page 26 of 26 FirstFirst ... 162223242526
Results 501 to 510 of 510

Thread: AEM 30-0300 Wideband with direct CAN integration W/ VCMScanner. Need beta testers.

  1. #501
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    330
    Yeah. PM me for the address, etc.

    As for the older unit that uses the LSU4.2, I think that would be an AEM 30-4100? If so, that is a completely different piece that has no CAN interface. The re-flash only works for the X-series devices: 30-0300, 30-0310, 30-0333 and 30-0334. It PROBABLY would work for the 30-0350 pro dual units. But, that has never been tested.

  2. #502
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    1
    Dr. Mike,
    i have the 30-0300 in my 2005 GTO (CAN Bus). i have tried the AC pressure switch route (https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...hp-tuners.html), but it doesn't come up as a loggable parameter as soon as i record. looking at the manual for the 30-0300 and the 30-0310, they look like the same gauge except for the included harness, no? is is possible to just wire my 30-0300 into the CAN bus at the DLC, r do i need something else (resistor or otherwise)?

  3. #503
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    330
    The hardware is the same. But, the firmware needs to be updated to convert to OBDII. After that, you can wire it into the DLC connector CAN lines.

  4. #504
    HP Tuners Owner Keith@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,926
    We've just added support for MPVI 2 CAN based sensors via the ProLink pigtail in VCM Scanner. The AEM and Zeitronix widebands are currently in the latest beta.

    We'd like some feedback.

    We'll add more sensors as they are requested.
    We got this guy Not Sure, ...

  5. #505
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Central, LA
    Posts
    428
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith@HPTuners View Post
    We've just added support for MPVI 2 CAN based sensors via the ProLink pigtail in VCM Scanner. The AEM and Zeitronix widebands are currently in the latest beta.

    We'd like some feedback.

    We'll add more sensors as they are requested.
    I'll swap the wires over on my prolink today. Thanks!

  6. #506
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    330
    I just finished testing multiple combinations of AEM 30-0300 and 30-0310 widebands with the latest beta VCMScanner ( 4.5.1198 ). Everything appears to be working with up to at least the 4 units I have, simultaneously.


    Here's what I did: ( connecting via the Prolink CAN wires )

    1. Repoll for supproted parameters.l
    2. Add the channel "External Inputs"/AEM/X-Series UEGO (30-03xx)/"WB EQ Ratio 1"
    3. Add to chart "WB EQ Ratio 1" NOT the SAE version
    4. Do NOT use the Generic Sensor, when queried.
    5. Make sure the CAN ID on the WB is set to match the channel number you are adding.


    Then added EQ Ratio 2, 3, 4, etc.

    So, it looks like there is now a solution for all of the pre-CAN ECU guys. I wonder if anyone will send me 30-0334s to flash back to 30-0300 ?

    Here it is running demo/test data from 3 channels of 30-0310.
    Capture.JPG

    Onward to my 2002 Blown LQ4 Silverado !

  7. #507
    Senior Tuner 10_SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,212
    Hey Dr. Mike, I have one of your flashed 03-3000 to 30-0333's, working fine all this time, now I just ordered a 2nd one for bank 2, but not connected to car yet I didnt think it was working since I can blow on the sensor and get the display to change on 02 mode, but no data changes in HPTuners.. no big deal I figured it out using propane gas (my breath just wasnt creating enough change).

    Anyway, before I realized that, I checked the signals. The 0333 has 4 bytes coming in, the 0334 only has 2. Do you know what the extra information is on the 0333? Do you think one could be set for o2, the other Lambda? Then I wonder if these still output the original AEMNet signals on different or same pins?

    0334:

    09:42:59.504 -> 7EF 6 41 25 CE 14 0 0 0
    09:42:59.572 -> 7EF 6 41 25 D1 CA 0 0 0
    09:42:59.640 -> 7EF 6 41 25 D5 5F 0 0 0
    09:42:59.708 -> 7EF 6 41 25 D8 B3 0 0 0
    09:42:59.776 -> 7EF 6 41 25 DE 34 0 0 0
    09:42:59.844 -> 7EF 6 41 25 E4 11 0 0 0
    09:42:59.912 -> 7EF 6 41 25 E9 B9 0 0 0
    09:42:59.980 -> 7EF 6 41 25 EF 2A 0 0 0
    09:43:00.048 -> 7EF 6 41 25 F4 6A 0 0 0
    09:43:00.116 -> 7EF 6 41 25 F9 DA 0 0 0
    09:43:00.184 -> 7EF 6 41 25 FF B7 0 0 0
    09:43:00.252 -> 7EF 6 41 25 FF FF 0 0 0
    09:43:00.320 -> 7EF 6 41 25 FF FF 0 0 0
    09:43:00.387 -> 7EF 6 41 25 FF FF 0 0 0
    09:43:00.455 -> 7EF 6 41 25 FF FF 0 0 0
    09:43:00.522 -> 7EF 6 41 25 FF FF 0 0 0



    0333:
    09:44:55.797 -> 7EF 6 41 24 D7 4B 35 D2 0
    09:44:55.865 -> 7EF 6 41 24 DB B2 36 EC 0
    09:44:55.934 -> 7EF 6 41 24 E0 B7 38 2D 0
    09:44:56.035 -> 7EF 6 41 24 E6 2A 39 8A 0
    09:44:56.103 -> 7EF 6 41 24 EA FB 3A BE 0
    09:44:56.171 -> 7EF 6 41 24 F0 A3 3C 28 0
    09:44:56.239 -> 7EF 6 41 24 F5 3F 3D 4F 0
    09:44:56.341 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FA 7B 3E 9E 0
    09:44:56.408 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF 16 3F C5 0
    09:44:56.476 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF FF 3F FF 0
    09:44:56.544 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF FF 3F FF 0
    09:44:56.612 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF FF 3F FF 0
    09:44:56.714 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF FF 3F FF 0
    09:44:56.782 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF FF 3F FF 0
    09:44:56.849 -> 7EF 6 41 24 FF FF 3F FF 0
    Last edited by 10_SS; 1 Week Ago at 11:15 AM.
    2010 Camaro LS3 (E38 ECU)
    Whipple 2.9L, 3.875" Pulley, kit injectors, supplied MSD Boost-A-Pump, stock pump
    LG Motorsports 1 7/8" Headers - No Cats, stock mid pipe with JBA Axle Back
    ZL1 Wheels/Tires

  8. #508
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    330
    It's some equivalency voltage thing that nobody uses. I started using it for debug information

  9. #509
    Senior Tuner 10_SS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    1,212
    Quote Originally Posted by dr.mike View Post
    It's some equivalency voltage thing that nobody uses. I started using it for debug information
    Very efficient! Hopefully I have only one last question!! Sorry, may be a little off topic for the last post but still relevant on the 30-0300 stuff.

    Had this 30-0300, updated to the 30-0333, working fine all this time. Couldnt get the two working side by side in HPTuners right away in channels just by changing the BIT (one 24, one 25), so I switched displays between the two sensors, in the process I free air cal'd the 30-0300 with new sensor, then when I put back in the car with the original sensor it appears to freeze (no response from HPT, buttons or sensor). So, I switch to 02 display since that shows a value rather than -----, and it heats, then jumps to 20.90 exactly and freezes. Nothing I do gets it to a menu, HPT wont see it. Numbers on the screen wont budge.

    Then, I take the new 30-0334, connect to this in car sensor, same exact thing. Appears to freeze, like it's reading over 20.90 and they don't like that so they freeze. Menu's dont work so I cant re-cal out of this situation.... or.. maybe....

    I can use the 30-0300 on the new sensor, no problem since it jumps to 20.81ish, stays responsive, no problem. The new 30-0334, on the original sensor, will unfreeze if it power it on with no sensor connected, then hold 'left button' then plug sensor in.. it see's the sensor type then jumps right to the normal menus. I free-air calibrate and no problem, now this one works fine. I cant get the original 03-0300 to boot this way... so now it just wont work with the old sensor no matter what.

    At this point, both are working fine, but the 30-0300 only works with the new sensor, and the new gauge works perfect with both sensors, after I was able to somehow force a free air calibration, if that makes sense. If a calibration can be run, they always pass.

    Then, to get them both to register in latest HPT BETA VCM Suite (Beta) 4.5.1209, I had to change the ECU in each to a different number, one 7E7, one 7E6. Changing just the BIT didn't do it.. One was always missing.

    What do you think? Is there an update avail for the original 30-0300 to handle a used sensor recal? This is the first time I recaled since I got it.

    One final free air-calibration on both, they read 20.81, 20.81, most of the time, occasionally one would bump to 20.82 or 20.80. Pretty crazy close.

    Resistor calibration (which isnt always avail - haven't figured out why) brings those values way down, like 20.1. Not sure how that is even close to accurate like they say.

    Thanks Doc!!
    Last edited by 10_SS; 1 Week Ago at 12:45 AM.
    2010 Camaro LS3 (E38 ECU)
    Whipple 2.9L, 3.875" Pulley, kit injectors, supplied MSD Boost-A-Pump, stock pump
    LG Motorsports 1 7/8" Headers - No Cats, stock mid pipe with JBA Axle Back
    ZL1 Wheels/Tires

  10. #510
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Posts
    330
    Each controller needs its own ECU ID. They are seperate controllers on the bus. They can actually share a PID number. But, that gets confusing.

    I'll have to have a look at the new/old sensor thing.

    As for free-air cal vs. resistor cal. The number that shows up on resistor cal O2% will depend on your altitude, barometer reading and air temperature.

    I have a table here, somewhere. But, for example, I am at 400'ASL. On Rcal, the new sensors read about 20.5% - 20.6%.

    20.1% might put you around 2000'ASL depending on air temp and barometer reading.

    This is all because wideband sensors really have no idea what the O2%, lambda, or AFR values are. What they actually measure is the partial pressure of Oxygen. And they calculate o2% lambda, and AFR from that number. The partial pressure of Oxygen, at sea level, under standard temperature and pressure is 14.7psi x 0.209 = 3.07psi. As the altitude goes up, the air pressure drops. And the Oxygen pressure drops proportionally. In Denver ( 5000'ASL ) I think it would read about 19.3%, Even though the O2% really still is 20.9%, proportionally.

    Doing a free-cal forces the controller to call whatever it currently measures as 20.8% by scaling.

    This is, actually, a great way to test sensors. If you get a reasonable number, based on your altitude, your sensor is good to go.
    SOMEWHERE, I have the full correction table with Altitude, Barometer, Temperature, and relative humidity. But, in reality, the sensors are only rated to +/- 2%. So, that gets a bit pedantic

    Something like

    On the plus side, you can use the oxygen percentage reading to test a sensor for drift/damage.

    Using rCal, set the gauge to display oxygen percentage ( 4-digit ). Your target reading should be 20.70 ? ( elevation x 0.00028 )

    e.g.

    @0? : 20.70 ? ( 0 x 0.00028 ) = 20.70 +/-2% = 20.29 ? 20.90 (max val )
    @2000? : 20.70 ? ( 2000 x 0.00028 ) = 20.14 +/-2% = 19.74 ? 20.54
    @4500? : 20.70 ? ( 4500 x 0.00028 ) = 19.44 +/-2% = 19.05 ? 19.83
    @8000? : 20.70 ? ( 8000 x 0.00028 ) = 18.46 +/-2% = 18.09 ? 18.83

    If your sensor is in range, it is almost 100% certain it is good. Sensors that read too low are probably clogged at the diffusion orifice. Sensors that read too high have compromised pump chemistry ( lead poisoning, etc. ) or are cracked and are leaking extra air into the test cell.
    Usually gets it done