Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 57 of 57

Thread: HOW TO: Setting up MAF Fuel Trim Graph in VCM Scanner V3

  1. #41
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    6,308
    Do some additional reading. Open loop means fuel trims are disabled.. can't tune with something that is disabled.

    You can use fuel trims to tune part throttle areas. A wideband is needed for WOT tuning.
    Post a log and tune if you want help

    VCM Suite V3+ GETTING STARTED THREADS / HOW TO's

    Tuner by night
    CPX Tuning
    2005 Corvette, M6
    ECS 1500 Supercharger
    AlkyControl Meth, Monster LT1-S Twin, NT05R's
    ID1000's, 220/240, .598/.598, 118 from Cam Motion

    2007 Escalade, A6
    Stock

  2. #42
    Tuner in Training pmkls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    14
    After confirming that everything is working properly, what is a good recommended cell hit count to use? I upped mine to 20 from the initial 5. Any thoughts on that?
    2006 Grand Prix GT 3800 L32 SC - Stock

  3. #43
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    15
    is there something to trend/watch in the scanner to know if PE is enabled? Or is it best to just go up the settings in the editor before scanning?

  4. #44
    Tuning Addict 5FDP's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Rogers, MN
    Posts
    8,355
    20-50 counts is good to aim for, the more the better IMO. A normal 15-25min scan log should net you plenty of information to help you.


    Lew, you can log the PE enable/disable status in the main channels list to see if it's active or not. You can raise the enable settings in the editor too if you wanted, like something around the factory 85-90% tps like most GM vehicles are now.
    2016 Silverado CCSB 5.3/6L80e, not as slow but still heavy.

  5. #45
    Tuner in Training pmkls1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by 5FDP View Post
    20-50 counts is good to aim for, the more the better IMO. A normal 15-25min scan log should net you plenty of information to help you.
    Thanks for the info. I left it at 20 counts and did a 30 min scan log yesterday. I haven't applied the changes and reflashed yet but I got good info from the log.
    2006 Grand Prix GT 3800 L32 SC - Stock

  6. #46
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    15
    Thanks 5FDP.

  7. #47
    Tuner in Training FlorianGee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by lewingjr View Post
    is there something to trend/watch in the scanner to know if PE is enabled? Or is it best to just go up the settings in the editor before scanning?
    On my 2002 LS1 I use this filter: "[50118.238]<1&[50108.120]>0"

    It filters on the EQ commanded being <1, thus PE and TPS >0 which eliminates coast conditions.
    2002 Pontiac Trans Am WS6 Collectors Edition 6spd T-Top

    MS4 cam | AFR 205 heads, BTR .660, Ferrea valves, Morel lifter | Hooker 1 3/4" headers + ORY | Magnaflow catback | FAST 36# injectors | LS6 intake | Eaton 3.73 diff | Bilstein/Eibach suspension | BMR SFCs, LCAs | Wilwood brakes | 17x9 & 17x11 wheels

  8. #48
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by FlorianGee View Post
    On my 2002 LS1 I use this filter: "[50118.238]<1&[50108.120]>0"

    It filters on the EQ commanded being <1, thus PE and TPS >0 which eliminates coast conditions.
    Where does a person find a list of those numbers and what they go to?

  9. #49
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    6,308
    In any of the parameter selector screens if you hit the button up at the top that looks like "1 9" then a down arrow it will sort by parameter #. Then you can search for whatever number and see what it is

    There are other ways but that's one

    Capture.JPG

  10. #50
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    6,308
    Post was deleted but basically the numbers on the right define the unit used
    Post a log and tune if you want help

    VCM Suite V3+ GETTING STARTED THREADS / HOW TO's

    Tuner by night
    CPX Tuning
    2005 Corvette, M6
    ECS 1500 Supercharger
    AlkyControl Meth, Monster LT1-S Twin, NT05R's
    ID1000's, 220/240, .598/.598, 118 from Cam Motion

    2007 Escalade, A6
    Stock

  11. #51
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    15
    Sorry about that. I posted that then went to make a filter and noticed it filled that in. So I tried to delete. I just need to explore more. Thanks for all your replies.

  12. #52
    Once you get your MAF errors using STFT+LTFT method, what do you plug in for the corrections when the #'s look like -1, -2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -7, etc?

  13. #53
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Posts
    6,308
    A lot of people copy/past special, multiply by % in Editor to adjust those cells by those amounts

    I prefer doing it mostly by hand so that I can keep things a bit smoother

  14. #54
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    swansea south wales UK
    Posts
    99
    Is it just LTFT+STFT and MAF frequency that needs to be logged to populate the graph ?

  15. #55
    Advanced Tuner 15PSI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    East Coast Somewhere
    Posts
    458
    That is correct. But you need to build two graphs, one for the high values and one for the low values.
    2012 Mustang GT with S/C
    4Runner with S/C
    Turbo/NOS Hayabusa - 320RWHP

  16. #56
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    swansea south wales UK
    Posts
    99
    Thanks for that

  17. #57
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    13
    So, do the math from the error and apply to to the MAF table of frequency vs air flow?