Thread: Flashing a blank reman ECM questions

Tuner in Training

Flashing a blank reman ECM questions

I plan to help a friend out with flashing a new blank GM re-manufactured ecm in his 2003 Corvette. I've never done this before so I want to inquire more about the process.

My friend apparently took the ecm from his '03 Corvette, sent it to a GM ecm supplier and had a new (separate) ecm built based on his original. This Corvette is also supercharged and was tuned by another shop. Looking at the current tune, it appears to have a custom 2bar OS. I've never uploaded a custom OS in HPT before, but I assume you have to disable the VATS system in order to do so? I say that because I don't see any options to enable or disable the VATS system under this ecm OS tab. In fact, the tab is completely blank when opened.

Assuming the VATS system is disabled with the custom OS. Do I just install the new reman ecm and Write Entire the tune to the new reman ecm? With Write Entire, that would change/update the VIN code of the new reman ecm? If it's that easy then great! I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything or accidentally brick the new reman ecm.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide me!

-Shane
    Last edited by camONLYls1; 03-03-2016 at 10:22 AM.

Tuner in Training
    I tried reading the tune off of the reman ecm today. When I opted to read the tune, it asked for a VIN number, so I put the in the VIN of original '03 Corvette. Once the read was over, the VIN was still blank (showed all YYY's) and HPT asked if I wanted to license the new VIN. Do I just need to license the new blank VIN, then Write Entire the original tune onto the reman ecm? I want to double check before I pay another $100 for a license.

Senior Tuner