Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Using a MPVI & MPVI2 on the same laptop

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    2

    Using a MPVI & MPVI2 on the same laptop

    Just bought a MPVI2 but would like to keep using my old MPVI on the same laptop. Please advise. Currently running version 4.0.12 if that matters.

  2. #2
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,247
    Update to 4.2 or newer. You can run both.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training Nutty Cutty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    15
    curious because Im a complete noob. Why would you need both? I bought the New MPVI2 but never had the MPVI so I don't know much about the differences.

  4. #4
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,247
    Quote Originally Posted by Nutty Cutty View Post
    curious because Im a complete noob. Why would you need both? I bought the New MPVI2 but never had the MPVI so I don't know much about the differences.
    MPVI1 is the older hardware, first released in 2006, very few customers have both an MPVI1 and MPVI2.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill@HPTuners View Post
    MPVI1 is the older hardware, first released in 2006, very few customers have both an MPVI1 and MPVI2.
    I have and use both on the same Laptop with 4.4.x

    I use the MPVI2 on the Dodge line and the MPVI1 on the GM line. Do I need to click on anything on my HPT scanner so it knows im switching interface or repoll anything differant?

    What the protocol for using the two interfaces on the same laptop.

  6. #6
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,247
    Nothing special to my knowledge.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    34
    I?ve-used both on on same laptop no issues. finally sent both in to get my credits from mpvi1 transferred to new one. Had no issues both at same time.