Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Do weather condition effect VVE ???

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38

    Do weather condition effect VVE ???

    I did my VVE tune in 100F and high humidity...

    Does anyone know how weather conditions effect VVE tune ??? If i was to scan in 60F weather, would it require changes ??

    Anyone know ???

  2. #2
    Senior Tuner Ben Charles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Calibrating
    Posts
    2,192
    Iat is part of te formula and is directly related to ambient temps so yes it is effected

    Email Tunes, PM me for more info
    96 TA Blown/Stroked, 4L80E/Fab 9
    15 C7 A8 H/C 2.3 Blower/PI
    14 Gen 5 Viper
    Custom Mid Engine chassis, AKA GalBen C

  3. #3
    I think theres an editable field that says what temp it was calibrated in. It says 68* stock and I zeroed mine in when it was that temp outside to be sure. I?m pretty sure that?s what the description stated

  4. #4
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38
    i completely missed that VE Base Temp setting... fail... i am guessing this is my IAT not ambient temperature ??? Can i just set this to 115F as that is what my IAT were ??

    BTW car is big cam, procharger, MAF breakout.

  5. #5
    Humidity would if you havent address the humidity table.

  6. #6
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil'sC5Vette View Post
    Humidity would if you havent address the humidity table.
    Are you talking about spark humidity table ?? i don't see one directly related to VVE.

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Close to my Z06
    Posts
    256
    How would you go about tuning for humidity?

  8. #8
    Tuner Camaro6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    71
    Turn off the temp setting option, tune VVE, then turn it on with your actual temp displayed in the PID. The car references the ambient temp. And watch out for the reflash which makes ambient read 32degrees, mine has done this a number of times in the past. Random stuff to watch out for.
    2018 Camaro SS, LT4 Fuel System, LT4 S/C

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    648
    Quote Originally Posted by Camaro6 View Post
    And watch out for the reflash which makes ambient read 32degrees, mine has done this a number of times in the past.

    The trucks do this A LOT! Hahahaha.
    2012 Chevy Cruze 1.4T A6

  10. #10
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    5
    Running the vehicle at 55 mph for 2 minutes should get the ambient reading back to proper.

  11. #11
    I got the 32 degree ambient issue also after flashing my VVE logging tune to the car. How are you correcting? Just flash again?

  12. #12
    Senior Tuner Ben Charles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Calibrating
    Posts
    2,192
    Just drive it and in about 10 minutes it goes back to normal temp

    Email Tunes, PM me for more info
    96 TA Blown/Stroked, 4L80E/Fab 9
    15 C7 A8 H/C 2.3 Blower/PI
    14 Gen 5 Viper
    Custom Mid Engine chassis, AKA GalBen C

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Charles View Post
    Just drive it and in about 10 minutes it goes back to normal temp
    Thanks Ben. So if I am doing my VVE tuning and corrections in 91 degree ambient tenps outside, I need to set the base temp to 91 degree vs 68 when I re-enable tenp correction?

  14. #14
    Senior Tuner Higgs Boson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    3,181
    I only tune VVE when it's 68 degrees outside.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Higgs Boson View Post
    I only tune VVE when it's 68 degrees outside.
    Dangit Higgs. Now I gotta download that weather app