Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: serial port aem channel problems

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    17

    serial port aem channel problems

    im trying to use the serial out put from my Aem 30-0300 with a serial to usb. My issue is the channels vanish when i start scan.
    I have try restarting laptop after connecting.serial port not working.hpl
    Last edited by Criegel; 09-08-2019 at 11:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    17
    AFR.Channels.xml This is my channel config

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Criegel View Post
    im trying to use the serial out put from my Aem 30-0300 with a serial to usb. My issue is the channels vanish when i start scan.
    I have try restarting laptop after connecting.serial port not working.hpl
    I had an issue with the same thing. Go into your device manager and scroll down to serial/usb devices. You should see a prolific serial-usb device. Right click it and click preferences. Itll open a pop up window. There should be a device driver tab click it. If the date of the device driver is after September of 09 there is a debug in the driver that checks for a counterfeit prolific chip. If the cable was cheap more than likely its counterfeit. There is a website with the correct drivers i installed that fixed my same issues. I was blaming it on my wideband and had already emailed aem about it. Im in the bed now but i will try to get some pics and a website for you.

  4. #4
    Potential Tuner nathanhine1977's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Darwin Australia
    Posts
    7
    Any update with this as im having same issue.
    My car is 2004 HSV LS2 E40
    AEM 30-0300 scan with serial

  5. #5
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    16
    I had the issue quite a bit until I went into the device manager and set it to COM1. When booting the laptop, I need to wait until I get a cursor flash in the upper right hand corner before plugging in the USB/serial cable, but I think thast has more to do with current draw on the USB plug. Sometimes I get that error otherwise.

  6. #6
    Potential Tuner nathanhine1977's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Darwin Australia
    Posts
    7
    My Fault, I just realised that I pined the serial port as a male plug when it is a female plug.
    Amazingly Now it works like it should.