View Poll Results: Can you datalog a EEC-V vehicle without Dropouts?

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    1 33.33%
  • No

    2 66.67%
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: EEC-V Datalog Drop Out

  1. #1
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    24

    EEC-V Datalog Drop Out

    Anyone found a fix yet for EEC-V constant drop out of gauges while datalogging?
    Makes it difficult doing WOT pulls when you RPM gauge drops to nothing.
    I also notice this in the raw data as well as I have sections of flat data sources. Except my wideband serial data stream.

    Wiring was mentioned as cause but couldn't find any specific issues with my wiring.

    Who else is having the issue and have you found a fix?

    Added a Poll so we can see who is actually getting clean datalogging with MPVI 2

    If you can please post car info and PCM/ECM info.
    Last edited by JayRab; 4 Weeks Ago at 01:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    226
    I believe hpt is working on getting it more stable. For now the best option is to seek an alternative option.

    I use the moates quarterhorse to datalog and tune the eec's which plugs directly in to the J3 port on the back of the ecu. As a bonus it gives you the ability to realtime emulate as well making it significantly less time consuming and easier to dial her in perfectly since your changes are updated to the ecu while the engine is running even at WOT during a pull if you want.

    The catch is unless you have an FBGI0 tune (all 02-04 mustangs) or CVAF1 tune (all 99-00 and most 01 mustangs - with the exception of some random RVAF1/A/B having some bastard hardware) you'll need to get your tune converted for $200 if you love your current tune.

    Otherwise you start from one of the free base tunes and dial her in. Either way you'll need a $75 moates jaybird chip reader/writer and a spare f3 chip which moates sells for $65. instead of flashing with hpt you just write the chip when your done and toss it on the back of the ecu. You can then use the quarterhorse and jaybird to tune other vehicles and all you need is a chip for each one you do.

    details - http://www.efidynotuning.com/started.htm
    O&E Speed Shop - 2333 Aberdeen St. Kenner, LA
    EFI Calibrator - decipha @ EFIDynoTuning
    http://www.efidynotuning.com/tune.htm

  3. #3
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    444
    I had that happen to me an 04. When recording everything would drop or freeze except the wb. When I reviewed the log, the scanner connected the dots with the missing data. I started unplugging the interface when i wasnt scanning or flashing and it started recording continuously for a little while but happened again.

  4. #4
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Jackson, TN
    Posts
    24
    mine doesn't fill in the the space it assumes same data from pre drop out during that phase. O2 voltage etc stay completely flat during the drop reconnect phase.

    Anyone NOT have drop outs with EEC-V either on car dash or drop out and reconnects on scanner? My big issue is the dash drops and I see RPM so it will be easy to over rev during data logging. I have a shift light now that will help me not over rev.

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    226
    set the rev limiter and just bang it rather than over revving
    O&E Speed Shop - 2333 Aberdeen St. Kenner, LA
    EFI Calibrator - decipha @ EFIDynoTuning
    http://www.efidynotuning.com/tune.htm

  6. #6
    Senior Tuner SultanHassanMasTuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    2,218
    i refuse to tune EEC-V until i get good logging, that would be for any platform.
    E-tuning/remote Tuning Sultan@mastuning.net Follow @MASTUNING Contact/Whatsapp +966555366161
    [URL="http://www.mastuningsaudi.com"]

  7. #7
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    28
    Also having problems dropping out in a 99 gt. Thought there was a wiring problem that had developed but realized that eec v is new in terms of support. Car has a coil pack going out anyways and owner has some on order so hopefully this bug is fixed within a few weeks.

  8. #8
    its crap

  9. #9
    HPT Employee Eric@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Crawfordville, FL
    Posts
    2,317
    We are aware of the issue and are working on a solution.
    Eric Brooks
    HP Tuners, LLC