Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Rtd

  1. #1

    Rtd

    Wanted some more info on the RTD since there is nothing on the website. How does one get access to the software that writes tunes to them? Can they hold more than 1 tune? Does the customer need a laptop to load and switch tunes or could a smart phone or tablet be used?

  2. #2
    HP Tuners Support
    (foff667)
    Bill@HPTuners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hailing from Parts Unknown
    Posts
    26,517
    you'd access the software through the company that sold the interface and a laptop must be used to load & switch tunes.
    It doesn't have to be perfect, it just needs to be done in two weeks...

    A wise man once said "google it"

  3. #3
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    107
    Im curious if we can modify the RTD supplied tune?

    I have an 18 chevy colado with my TCM unlocked. I have credits paid for and the ecm and tcm tuned using my mvpi2

    Edelbrock has a supercharger for the truck and it uses a RTD. I have changed my differential gears and am running larger tires. The TCM is tuned to allow safer running of the larger tires at the expense of adding firmer shifts and more aggressive shift points. It also solves the torque converter open close open close open close issue.

    I am curious if I get the supercharger kit with the RTD pieces, will it mess with my licensing of my ecu and tcm? After I upload the RTD tune by edelbrock, can I then adjust the tire and gear wzard and add my tcm tune to it?

    Im fine keeping their tuning for the ecu and supercharger. At best I may log it to just make sure everything is safe when hammering trails, and may detune it a little if knocking etc is found.

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner 96gt4.6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    436
    I was able to read/edit/rewrite a cal from Magnuson that came with an RTD tool recently. However, I hear that some you cannot. Ford is one of them, so I am told, they run a custom OS # that the VCM Scanner/Editor will not recognize, therefore you cannot open/save/edit it.

    I would contact Edelbrock and see what they say.

    Otherwise, all the RTD really does is just allow the end user to load the supplied program with a stripped down version of HP Tuners you install on a laptop. I just switched over to the normal editor, switched over to my MPVI2 and performed a read, then off I went.

    Wouldn't work if the OS is custom or not recognized though.
    '17 Whipple'd S550
    Too many other projects to list.....see my YouTube channel for more: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCr7...-XfDG53sCh6tcw

  5. #5
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    107
    Yeah. I sent a ticket to HP tuner and ask them and they said they were not sure if after using the RTD it would delete or erase all of my credits and licensing.

    Edelbrock Went from being really helpful to not helpful at all between the time I spoke to them two months ago and when I spoke to them last week. Their answer was by the tuner kit do you not use the tune and get a custom tuned.

    I asked them if I could submit to them my transmission tune and my gear entire info and they could even just update the RTD and I would use that. But they said no. I may p.m. you and ask you some more questions in detail but I?m juggling my two kids right now

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner 96gt4.6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    436
    I mean it makes sense, the whole purpose is to be able to lock down the tune to keep everything within their designed limits, and in some cases they offer a powertrain warranty as well with their kits. Hard to keep that in place when people can modify at will after the fact, then the burden is on them to prove the modifications in a warranty claim scenario.

    I am sure they are stuck supplying CARB compliant tunes as well, so therefore it's highly doubtful they would supply any type of tune other than what is already pre-engineered with their kits, and is also probably why they went from super helpful, to nothing recently with all the EPA crackdowns going on with non compliant tune suppliers.

    I suppose if it were me in that scenario, have a backup plan to use if you cannot read the tune after it is flashed with the supplied RTD. You can always go back to stock with the RTD tool, then start tuning from there on the OEM stock tune as if it were a tuner kit. I agree however, much easier to work with a good supplied tune in the beginning, which is exactly what I had to do with the Magnuson kit I recently did.
    '17 Whipple'd S550
    Too many other projects to list.....see my YouTube channel for more: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCr7...-XfDG53sCh6tcw

  7. #7
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Slidell, La.
    Posts
    868
    Have you tried to read and write with the regular editor using the rtd tool instead of the mpvi2, just curious of that
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    20yr Master Tech.
    Advanced Level Specialist
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner

  8. #8
    Advanced Tuner 96gt4.6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    436
    I did not for fear of causing an issue.....as I had read the RTD tool would not work like that. Interestingly enough it shows in my devices list with it's own serial number