Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 41

Thread: 03-04 Mustang Tuning - Don't Bother - Super Charged 4.6

  1. #21
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Slidell, La.
    Posts
    870
    The scanner version i have "tabbed" on my task bar, that is my daily go to is 4.2. I have used it with 4.0, 4.4, and 4.5
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    20yr Master Tech.
    Advanced Level Specialist
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner

  2. #22
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    13
    I just ordered a mvpi2 after trying to tune a friends 01 4.6 and not realizing it will not work with mpvi1.
    I will say though that I was about to pull data using the scanner and check monitors using the mpvi1 without issue.

    I have not had him back yet to try and work on the car using the newly acquired mpvi2

  3. #23
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belton, Missouri
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by mbray01 View Post
    The scanner version i have "tabbed" on my task bar, that is my daily go to is 4.2. I have used it with 4.0, 4.4, and 4.5
    So the new version of the scanner works with the MPVI1 then. I wasn't sure, but did try both. I ended up sending the MPVI1 back to HP Tuners to have them check it out. Thanks

  4. #24
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    35
    I just did my first one of these cars yesterday and I couldn't scan with MPVI 1, but my MPVI 2 worked great. I didn't have any crashes while logging or anything. This was on 4.5.1409

    I did have one weird issue. A few times the flash would fail to complete. That was a little frustrating. Once I had to try 5-6 times before it finally completed. Each time it would get up to a minute into the flash and then fail. So that was kind of time consuming. I'm sure things like that will get better. I'm just glad I was able to complete the job and the car is running much better than it did when it came in. I've had a lot of guys asking me about tuning these cars recently, but I hate using SCT software so I've just kind of stayed away from them. The car was a 2001 Mustang GT manual with a Vortech SC.

  5. #25
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belton, Missouri
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by memphiss13 View Post
    I just did my first one of these cars yesterday and I couldn't scan with MPVI 1, but my MPVI 2 worked great. I didn't have any crashes while logging or anything. This was on 4.5.1409

    I did have one weird issue. A few times the flash would fail to complete. That was a little frustrating. Once I had to try 5-6 times before it finally completed. Each time it would get up to a minute into the flash and then fail. So that was kind of time consuming. I'm sure things like that will get better. I'm just glad I was able to complete the job and the car is running much better than it did when it came in. I've had a lot of guys asking me about tuning these cars recently, but I hate using SCT software so I've just kind of stayed away from them. The car was a 2001 Mustang GT manual with a Vortech SC.
    I assume you are running the Beta scanner? I was told that I needed to use Beta. Also, I believe they only list support for 03-04 Mustangs, so I am not sure about a 2001 but if it worked out, that is great. Most of us seem to have severe lag with the MVPI2 scanner. Thanks for the input.

  6. #26
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Slidell, La.
    Posts
    870
    Beta scanner is not needed for logging(again, I use 4.2, which isnt beta) hpt works on 99+mustangs as of right now
    Last edited by mbray01; 03-05-2020 at 03:17 PM.
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    20yr Master Tech.
    Advanced Level Specialist
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner

  7. #27
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belton, Missouri
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by mbray01 View Post
    Beta scanner is not needed for logging(again, I use 4.2, which isnt beta) hpt works on 99+mustangs as of right now
    That's good to know. For some reason I was thinking I saw only 03-04 listed. The MPVI1 I purchased has tested good by HPTuners, so we are looking at other reasons as to why I can't get it to connect. Thanks.

  8. #28
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    35
    My MPVI 1 wouldn't log all of the parameters. I had to use MPVI2

  9. #29
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belton, Missouri
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by memphiss13 View Post
    My MPVI 1 wouldn't log all of the parameters. I had to use MPVI2
    My MPVI2 would freeze for a few seconds and then take back off. I reduced the channels to a minimum and it still did it. HPTuners is shipping back my MPVI1 and I will try both when it gets back.

  10. #30
    same boat here , cant log , few seconds and freeze. 03 mustang gt , also channel to the minumum , either normal or beta presents this issue . i f anyone has a solution since i have spend 2 credits please let us know

  11. #31
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    9
    I'm trying to tune my 2003 Cobra with my MPVI2 but I can't read the PCM, it tells me to turn the key to the off position for 3 seconds and then back on again, but it just says controller init failed. Anyone know how I can read the car?

  12. #32
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    4
    I just had that problem. By accident I solved it by only waiting 1 second. Try various delays.

  13. #33
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belton, Missouri
    Posts
    68
    After considerable time and expense my original statement stands "Don't Bother". I had to have the vehicle towed to the dealer to get it reflashed $130. I bought 2 credits $100. I purchased an MPVI 1 as mentioned above $400. I have spent countless hours trying to make this work. I sent the MPVI 1 back to HPTuners to see if it was working correctly. They said yes. It will not work with The latest Beta Scanner or older version like 2.24. It will connect but not scan anything just the numbers along the bottom. The MPVI 2 locks and freezes. All of this just attempting to scan, let alone to see if these things are even tunable. I am punting. The customer will go aftermarket EFI or take it somewhere else.

  14. #34
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    314
    shoot me a PM
    O&E Speed Shop - 2333 Aberdeen St. Kenner, LA
    EFI Calibrator - decipha @ EFIDynoTuning
    http://www.efidynotuning.com/tune.htm

  15. #35
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Belton, Missouri
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by decipha View Post
    shoot me a PM
    PM sent

  16. #36
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    8
    mBray01 could you look over a file for me on a 03 GT....so far so good....

  17. #37
    Advanced Tuner mbray01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Slidell, La.
    Posts
    870
    YOU CAN EMAIL ME @
    rustyknucklegarage@yahoo.com

    be sure to tell me what version your using, so if I make changes it doesnt affect what version your on
    Michael Bray
    Rusty Knuckle Garage
    Slidell, Louisiana
    20yr Master Tech.
    Advanced Level Specialist
    Custom Car Fabrication, Customization, High Performance.
    GM World Class Technician
    Shop Owner

  18. #38
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    8
    Thanks so much

  19. #39
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    8
    MBray01 did you get my email?

  20. #40
    bump... still getting this scanner issue