Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: 5.7 to 6.4 swap in 13 Ram 1500 Back fire and limp mode

  1. #1
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Luling Louisiana
    Posts
    7

    5.7 to 6.4 swap in 13 Ram 1500 Back fire and limp mode

    Only my second post. I swapped in a 2016 6.4 from a wrecked challenger. I have everything hooked up and the truck starts and runs but is throwing a bunch of codes.

    PO300 Random Misfire - I have gone through all vacuum lines exhaust and checked wiring all are good
    P0052 O2 Sensor 2/1 Heater circuit high - The cats are gone but I don't have a tune to remove one of the O2 sensors - How do I do that?
    P0132 O2 Sensor 1/1 Circuit High - same as above
    P0032 O2 Sensor 1/1 Heater Circuit High - same as above
    P2122 Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor 1 circuit low
    P0750 LR Solenoid Circuit
    P0846 2-4 or 2C Pressure Switch Rationality
    P0935 Line pressure sensor circuit high
    P0058 2/2 Heater Circuit High
    P0443 Evap Purge Solenoid Circuit


    The ECM is the 2013 Ram 5.7 Computer on the 6.4 motor.

    Fuel Pressure 54.8
    MAP 9.7
    Spark adv 4.5
    IAT 95 degrees
    TPS% 16.5

    I have attached the base tune or what the truck is running off of currently. Any suggestions or direction to get a tune to get it running correctly is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and stay safe.

    Motor is backfiring and if I try and drive it any it goes into limp mode with the lighting bolt flashing.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by TunaSRT; 1 Week Ago at 06:50 PM. Reason: Additional information the motor is backfiring and if I try and drive any distance it will go into limp mode

  2. #2
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    21
    Im pretty sure the Ecm is different between the 13 and 16 , personally i would try to buy the engine with the original ecm

  3. #3
    Tuner in Training
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    36
    bro use same ecu for that engine

  4. #4
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    The +2015 challenger engine controllers are gpec2a...you ram is a gpec2 however I think the 6.4 will work with the gpec. To disable rear o2 max out their ect.

  5. #5
    Advanced Tuner coanan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by TunaSRT View Post
    Only my second post. I swapped in a 2016 6.4 from a wrecked challenger. I have everything hooked up and the truck starts and runs but is throwing a bunch of codes.

    PO300 Random Misfire - I have gone through all vacuum lines exhaust and checked wiring all are good
    P0052 O2 Sensor 2/1 Heater circuit high - The cats are gone but I don't have a tune to remove one of the O2 sensors - How do I do that?
    P0132 O2 Sensor 1/1 Circuit High - same as above
    P0032 O2 Sensor 1/1 Heater Circuit High - same as above
    P2122 Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor 1 circuit low
    P0750 LR Solenoid Circuit
    P0846 2-4 or 2C Pressure Switch Rationality
    P0935 Line pressure sensor circuit high
    P0058 2/2 Heater Circuit High
    P0443 Evap Purge Solenoid Circuit


    The ECM is the 2013 Ram 5.7 Computer on the 6.4 motor.

    Fuel Pressure 54.8
    MAP 9.7
    Spark adv 4.5
    IAT 95 degrees
    TPS% 16.5

    I have attached the base tune or what the truck is running off of currently. Any suggestions or direction to get a tune to get it running correctly is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and stay safe.

    Motor is backfiring and if I try and drive it any it goes into limp mode with the lighting bolt flashing.

    Do some comparing. airflow and injector data
    13 J GC 6.4.hpt
    2013 Chrysler 300S, Stock 6.4 BGE with 6.4 SRT cam, AIT 18% OD pulley, E-force 2.62 pulley(12.2 lbs boost), fastman 84+4 mm throttle body, 1 7/8 kooks long tubes w/hi-flow cats, 3" Magnaflow Cat-back, FTI 2800 stall, Trans by Hellraiser, Dings Racing valve body and tune, Getrag 3.73, Walbro 400LPH, DW 65# inj. aluminum rad. SRT fans. Brembo upgrade. Stage one MOPAR springs, XIX X39 22x9 +15 - 22x10.5 +22 with NITTO NT555 265/35R22 - 295/30R22 In progress: TSP Stage 4 226/235 582/582 117+4

  6. #6
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    Another thing to note is the 5.7 PCM assumes that full cam advance is 125 degrees but on a 6.4 it is 134 degrees so you will need to offset the exhaust VVT tables by ~9 degrees.

    https://forum.hptuners.com/showthrea...l=1#post587987

    You have some work to do to your base tune. Your engine type still shows 5.7. My recommendation to you is to look over coanan's tune and pretty much copy everything over except the engine diagnostics and transmission related parameters.
    Last edited by Homer; 4 Days Ago at 08:58 PM.

  7. #7
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Luling Louisiana
    Posts
    7
    All thank you. I am going to work through the coanan's tune and the info over and write it to my PCM.

    I am using the 13's computer because the 16 and 13 do speak different languages in the CAN when it comes to operating the rest of the vehicle. Using the 13 allows me to keep the AC -Radio - Headlights etc. Then tune the motor to a 6.4. I also have a module in the truck to run the 8 speed transmission as mine was originally a 6 speed. I have been working on this along with other modifications on the truck for over 2 year. I will keep you all updated and again thank you for the input. Stay Safe.

  8. #8
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Luling Louisiana
    Posts
    7
    I spent the day yesterday transferring data from the 6.4 tune to my base line and then saving. I was able to push it to the truck yesterday, but wasnt running any better. I tried making some adjustments in the fuel, but it only got worse.
    I truly believe it is because something I did incorrectly in the tune. Any help taking a look for my mistake would be greatly appreciated.
    Stay Safe.64tune with revised data.hpt

  9. #9
    Advanced Tuner coanan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by TunaSRT View Post
    I spent the day yesterday transferring data from the 6.4 tune to my base line and then saving. I was able to push it to the truck yesterday, but wasnt running any better. I tried making some adjustments in the fuel, but it only got worse.
    I truly believe it is because something I did incorrectly in the tune. Any help taking a look for my mistake would be greatly appreciated.
    Stay Safe.64tune with revised data.hpt
    What got changed and what stayed the same on eng?
    2013 Chrysler 300S, Stock 6.4 BGE with 6.4 SRT cam, AIT 18% OD pulley, E-force 2.62 pulley(12.2 lbs boost), fastman 84+4 mm throttle body, 1 7/8 kooks long tubes w/hi-flow cats, 3" Magnaflow Cat-back, FTI 2800 stall, Trans by Hellraiser, Dings Racing valve body and tune, Getrag 3.73, Walbro 400LPH, DW 65# inj. aluminum rad. SRT fans. Brembo upgrade. Stage one MOPAR springs, XIX X39 22x9 +15 - 22x10.5 +22 with NITTO NT555 265/35R22 - 295/30R22 In progress: TSP Stage 4 226/235 582/582 117+4

  10. #10
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    Looks like OP copied everything over including engine diagnostics (OP posted his base tune in his first post). One thing I noticed is the engine displacement is now 6.4 which I think you should leave as 5.7...the engine size and type should be 6.4. Also, if you want to disable the rear O2 sensors maximize this value.
    o2 disable.JPG

    Did you reset the adaptive after you loaded the tune? Also, what codes are you getting now.

    I wonder if you might need a pre-2015 6.4 wiring harness...just looking them up on mopar parts sites show a change after 2015.

    One way to check the harness is to look up the pinouts here:
    http://connectors.dcctools.com/

    Or check the online chilton manual here:
    https://mcdowellpubliclibrary.org/chilton-auto-repair/
    Last edited by Homer; 1 Day Ago at 08:44 PM.

  11. #11
    Advanced Tuner coanan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by Homer View Post
    Looks like OP copied everything over including engine diagnostics (OP posted his base tune in his first post). One thing I noticed is the engine displacement is now 6.4 which I think you should leave as 5.7...the engine size and type should be 6.4. Also, if you want to disable the rear O2 sensors maximize this value.
    o2 disable.JPG

    Did you reset the adaptive after you loaded the tune? Also, what codes are you getting now.

    I wonder if you might need a pre-2015 6.4 wiring harness...just looking them up on mopar parts sites show a change after 2015.

    One way to check the harness is to look up the pinouts here:
    http://connectors.dcctools.com/

    Or check the online chilton manual here:
    https://mcdowellpubliclibrary.org/chilton-auto-repair/
    Need to know how much of the 6.4 he used, truck or car intake, inj. I didn't do any wiring changes when I put the 2017 RAM 6.4 in mine, but I used my front timing cover and didn't use the intake.
    2013 Chrysler 300S, Stock 6.4 BGE with 6.4 SRT cam, AIT 18% OD pulley, E-force 2.62 pulley(12.2 lbs boost), fastman 84+4 mm throttle body, 1 7/8 kooks long tubes w/hi-flow cats, 3" Magnaflow Cat-back, FTI 2800 stall, Trans by Hellraiser, Dings Racing valve body and tune, Getrag 3.73, Walbro 400LPH, DW 65# inj. aluminum rad. SRT fans. Brembo upgrade. Stage one MOPAR springs, XIX X39 22x9 +15 - 22x10.5 +22 with NITTO NT555 265/35R22 - 295/30R22 In progress: TSP Stage 4 226/235 582/582 117+4

  12. #12
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    Quote Originally Posted by coanan View Post
    Need to know how much of the 6.4 he used, truck or car intake, inj. I didn't do any wiring changes when I put the 2017 RAM 6.4 in mine, but I used my front timing cover and didn't use the intake.
    I know on the challenger forum, there were guys swapping in a hellcat motors and there were issues with slight harness changes through the years...or so the guys over at Steve White Parts.

  13. #13
    Advanced Tuner coanan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    S. Florida
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by Homer View Post
    I know on the challenger forum, there were guys swapping in a hellcat motors and there were issues with slight harness changes through the years...or so the guys over at Steve White Parts.
    Using complete HC eng you would need to do some wiring.
    2013 Chrysler 300S, Stock 6.4 BGE with 6.4 SRT cam, AIT 18% OD pulley, E-force 2.62 pulley(12.2 lbs boost), fastman 84+4 mm throttle body, 1 7/8 kooks long tubes w/hi-flow cats, 3" Magnaflow Cat-back, FTI 2800 stall, Trans by Hellraiser, Dings Racing valve body and tune, Getrag 3.73, Walbro 400LPH, DW 65# inj. aluminum rad. SRT fans. Brembo upgrade. Stage one MOPAR springs, XIX X39 22x9 +15 - 22x10.5 +22 with NITTO NT555 265/35R22 - 295/30R22 In progress: TSP Stage 4 226/235 582/582 117+4

  14. #14
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Luling Louisiana
    Posts
    7
    I used the complete motor and plugged it up with my 2013 harness. I went through the 392 harness and found 2 capacitors in the 392 harness that are not in the truck 13 harness. I will need to try and find how to wire those into the harness or first if they are 100% needed. It would seam if they are there it would be for a reason. I have not gone through the chilton guide yet but will do that next.

    I went through the 392 tune and copied over to my tune as best I could. In some instances I couldn't get the data I placed in my tune to stay as I wrote it in the tune. The program would change it back to the original value.

    I pushed the revised tune and I did not reset the adaptives.I am going to go back and make the change to the 5.7 as mentioned in Homer's post and push the tune back to the truck and then reset the adaptives. Once I have that I will run the truck and record codes if they change. Currently it is still showing the same codes I was having previously.

    I have changed the O2 plugs in the headers and I am going to change the MAP sensor. The current MAP is new but not a MOPAR sensor it came from Oreilly auto and did not have the mount to bolt it to the manifold and that has worried me about it being able to make correct reading. I just received the new MOPAR part yesterday.

    I am also going to max those values for the rear O2 sensors. I wasn't sure where to max the values but with the pic included I got it.

    Homer and Coanan thanks for the help I am 100% new to this and I don't mind being told I am doing something wrong. I haven't been able to find anyone local that knows anything about doing a swap.

    I will post an update shortly.
    Stay Safe

  15. #15
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Luling Louisiana
    Posts
    7
    Why does the tune editor add 1 to the value I place in the field. I put 375 degrees for the rear o2 sensor and when I saved the file it bumped it to 376 degrees.

  16. #16
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    Not sure but what drive me nuts is you when you don't make a change and then go back and compare to an older tune and the compare log comes back with a list of parameters that have been changed, only to discover it is off by 1 or 0.1.

    As for being new to tuning dodge...join the club. I have had HP tuners for 2 years now and I still feel like a noob.

  17. #17
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    BTW all the pinout info can be found in the mopar connect repair site I posted...just lookup power train module (connectors C1 & C2).

  18. #18
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Luling Louisiana
    Posts
    7
    I made the changes in the tune and pushed it. It still is backfiring constantly and sounds like it is knocking.
    Codes P0443 evap purge generic permanent
    P2127 and P2122 both for the accelerator pedal position sensor that are generic permanent.

    I haven't been able to drive the truck enough to get rid of the permanent codes.

    I guess a good thing is the random miss code 0300 is gone. I hoped that when I got rid of that code the backfire would be gone.

    I noticed that I can't get it over 4000 rpm don't know why?

    I am including the tune and the run if anyone sees something that stands out as odd or stupid please let me know.
    run 57 64 422020.hplsix four tune using conanan tune info 57 displacement and maxxed o2.hpt

  19. #19
    Advanced Tuner
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    547
    Could it be the PCM still thinks it is in park/nuetral? When I had my supercharger tuned using diablo my first tune would not let me go past 4000rpm (I have a manual trans). The tuner fixed it but never told me why, well when I got HP tuners I discovered it was the park/nuertal RPM limit. My point being, is if the PCM does not know it is in drive it will refer to that table for RPM limit. You can try bumping it up to 6400 to see. Also see if you can log torque source to see what might be limiting the higher RPMs.