Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 234567 LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 126

Thread: Bricked ECM

  1. #101
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    Same here. My old ECM I sent to them and they couldn't bench flash it. $1300 later I have a replacement ECM and it's going to cost me $200 to get my original gone through to see what happened. I sent multiple debug files to support and they weren't able to give me any root cause. When all is done I will probably be out close to $2500 including a different tuning platform.

  2. #102
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    I guess I?m lucky in the sense that I already got the FlashScan v2 and MM3 to choose from. My MM3 is linked to the serial number of the original ECM though so I would have to get a new license to use it on my truck but that?s only $100 or $150.

  3. #103
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    The sun even shines on a dog's behind occasionally. Truck is running again and drivable. It is running my old H&S crappy tunes. Except now I am getting a check engine light for the immobilizer key. I am guessing that is due to new PCM and not having it programmed. I got a response back from EFI Live sales stating support for my truck in the v3 is due out this week or next. So my Flashscan v3 will be showing up on Wednesday. Overall with a little patients I will be back to tuning my rig in a few weeks.
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.

  4. #104
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    Awesome

  5. #105
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    Support got back to me on my user defined parameters not working. They stated it could be due to a difference OS on the new PCM (I verified the old and the new one have the same OS), or the new PCM uses difference memory locations. I am having a harder time with latter since the OS is the same. Does that sound plausible?
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.

  6. #106
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    My honest opinion, doesn?t sound right. Even if it were a different OS for the same year, all parameters are in the same location. If you were given a C&C OS, then possibly some parameters would be in a different location.
    Last edited by Jim P; 1 Week Ago at 06:14 PM.

  7. #107
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    That's what I was thinking too. If it did use difference memory locations it will be difficult to tune. You would have to remap all the parameters depending on what hardware was used. The OS needs to know where to look for the configuration in memory.
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.

  8. #108
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    Send me your file your new ecm, I?ll take a look at it

  9. #109
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    Thanks Jim, I sent it over.
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.

  10. #110
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    Had an email last night, a guys customers 6.7 got bricked from flashing it with HP Tuners. @Engineering. Really need to check the programming of the software for those who want use HP Tuners on the 6.7 Cummins.

  11. #111
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    Two more trucks to add to the list here. @guy-ffc, his 2003 and the same truck I mentioned in my previous post got bricked again after replacing the ECM and trying HPT on it again.

  12. #112
    Potential Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    8
    That?s just insane

  13. #113
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    Yep. Somethings not right in the software.

  14. #114
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    Wow, this is bad. I had been meaning to respond, but my weekend was busy. I hope these people are opening tickets with support. Support never gave me a root cause. I will not be flashing my PCM again with HP Tuners. My EFI Live shows up today. I was going to continue using HP Tuners for my gas vehicles, but until we get some answers it will be a no go. I know what this has cost me in time and money. I hope it turns out better for others.
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.

  15. #115
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    I did an LML off-road tune for someone recently, it took that write.

  16. #116
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    Maybe the issue is Cummins specific?
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.

  17. #117
    Senior Tuner Jim P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    1,369
    Maybe. The file I did, I missed the egr then he wanted more than a base tune so I got that ready for him, hope it won?t haven?t any issues like people have been having with these Cummins.

  18. #118
    Tuner in Training guy-ffc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    48
    i was following this post and held off updating beta until mine crashed, I did open a ticket (03 Cummins 845 ECM) and they said to try an update on beta and use the original "supplied file" and it did work fine. i have asked them if they did an update on beta as I always flash with beta and actually bought another ECM it's just not here yet.

    i am now beyond nervous to flash a Cummins with HPT, hopefully, they get back with some sort of answer or I may toss my smaty touch on it but I don't have a dongle yet to tune.
    my 05 Cummins has been flashed hundreds of times with smarty never had an issue
    2010 F-350 w/05 5.9 5R110 30% inj 64mm Turbo Stroker pump & Studs
    2008 F-350 w/03 5.9 48RE

  19. #119
    Tuner dhoagland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Aubrey TX
    Posts
    137
    Damn all this makes me nervous...
    I have Flashed my 03 Cummins many times and was wanting to make a few changes right now, but I think I'm going to hold off for a bit.
    2011 Camaro 2SS Convertible L99 Bone Stock for now
    2003 Dodge 2500 5.9 Cummins QC 4x4. Airaid, 2nd Gen Intake, Grid Heater Delete, D-Tech 62/65/12, Magnaflow. Bully Dog: Propane Injection, Triple Dog W/Outlook Crazy Larry. Edge EZ, BD Flow-Max, 48RE: Sonnax Sure Cure/Transgo combination, Derale turbulator, billet input, Triple Disc, Super servo, 4 ring Accumulator. :beer

  20. #120
    Tuner
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    64
    I made 34 tune changes and flashes over the last year to my truck. Only the last one failed and bricked my ECM. The last one I made after updating to VCM Editor 4.8.7. I didn't think anything of it at the time other than trying to get it to work. Now with others having similar issues, it looks like there is something different in the latest release that is suspect. I even sent my ECM to support to test and try to flash it. They were unsuccessful and never gave me a root cause for the failure. Without knowing the "why", I won't brick another ECM that cost me $1300.
    2008 Dodge Cummins 6.7 - 2nd Gen Swap S467.7/83/1.0, No Grid Heater, Banks Intake, BD Flowmax LP, G56 w/SB Clutch.