Thread: E92 fan control settings

Potential Tuner

E92 fan control settings

noob here, I have looked all over the forums and haven't found the info I need. I put a 160F thermostat in my 2019 suburban, and need to change my fans to work with the new stat. What is SWP no-flow, and ECT override limit? also there are settings under the fan tab that i can't find any info on to change to have the fans work with the new thermostat. I changed the mech thermostat to 160, but not sure what to put the rest of the settings at.

Tuner in Training
    What are the desired settings you are looking for? I mean what do you want the fans to do? What temp do you want the vehicle to run, not 160ish for daily driver?

Potential Tuner
    Absolutely I want it to run around 160 as a daily driver. I don't want to get into the reasons why and that whole debate. I just want to know how to set the fans for a different mechanical thermostat, especially since my stock tune shows that I have one fan, and it is PWM EV, and I have two electric fans. this is an entirely stock vehicle.

'Number of fans: 1' means that there is only one fan output pin in use. There can be multiple fans connected to that one signal wire, they just all will do the same thing at the same time. 'Number of fans: 2' would be using two separate output pins, each pin able to do its own thing. There is no point to multiple staged fan outputs with variable speed fans.

If you need fan activation lower than what the stock OS tables allow you will need to take control away from the ECM and use some type of standalone aftermarket fan controller with an output compatible with the stock brushless fans.

Advanced Tuner
    Quote Originally Posted by blindsquirrel View Post
    If you need fan activation lower than what the stock OS tables allow you will need to take control away from the ECM and use some type of standalone aftermarket fan controller with an output compatible with the stock brushless fans.