Thread: Gear Based Throttle Limits

Potential Tuner

Gear Based Throttle Limits

Hello everyone!

I'm new to HPTuners and tuning, but not new to Tundras; bought my regular cab short box 2WD brand new on December 19, 2007 while I was working as a Toyota tech. Considering I am new to the tuning world, please don't be afraid to point me in the right direction if I'm focusing on the wrong thing.

Let me explain my goal here; I race my truck in a consistency-based brackets system at my local track. While I like to think I do alright, I'm not as consistent as I'd like to be, as I have to "feed the throttle" (depress the accelerator pedal to the floor more slowly than usual) at the starting line to prevent tire meltdowns. What I'm looking to do is take that variable out, and be able to fully depress the accelerator pedal while staging, then just be able to let go of the brake and have the truck "feed its own throttle" as it starts moving.

I came across Gear Based throttle limits for 1st gear and 2nd gear in Engine > Airflow > Electronic Throttle (located directly above Sec Air Fault), which would be perfect for me, as it appears to work off MPH, so I could simply adjust the table parameters and values for proper throttle angle at, say 0mph, 1mph, 2mph, etc until I reach wide open throttle. Stock calibration file shows all the table values set to max throttle angle opening (89.84). The problem I'm running into is no matter what I change on this table, the truck doesn't seem to recognize it. I've tried leaving the table parameters alone and just changing the values, changing the table parameters and values, and still nothing. I've tried placing the truck in different modes, such as Auto LSD, traction control turned completely off, sport / manual shift mode (I even modified the sport shift mode to hold gears so I knew I was in 1st), and tow-haul. Nothing I've done so far makes the truck realize "hey, this guy wants less throttle opening while he's stopped".